Hiroshima City


Advertisement
Asia
July 14th 2010
Published: July 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After a relaxing Shinkansen ride, I arrived in Hiroshima. Here, the main attractions relate to the atomic blast that occured in 1945.

My first and only night in Hiroshima I rented a bicycle. It was great fun and a nice break from walking cruising around the city. Riding around at night, I was able to get some great shots of the A-Dome, one of the last perserved buildings near ground zero from the blast.

My last day in Japan I visited the Peace Park Memorial Museum, a large-scale, well-organized, and objective presentation of information surrounding the blast. I found it an extremely informative and sombering experience. I learned a lot about the devestation of nuclear war and the importance of controlling nuclear proliferation.

I was a bit sad to leave Japan, but I had to move on. I hope to come back for perhaps at least a summer in the near future.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Gummies!Gummies!
Gummies!

One of my favorite types of gummy back home is imported from Japan. Imagine my delight when I get here and find 30 more varieties!


Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb