DUMPLINGS, OMURICE, and Chopsticks


Advertisement
Asia
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

FOOD, FOOD, FOOD!
Food, Food, food, food, food, food, food!!!!!!

Now, let me preface this entry with the fact that I do realize that my outward appearance reflects my inward love of food. I am fully aware of this and quite honestly, I simply don't care. I am who I am, and if you don't like it, maybe this travel blog entry isn't for you.

With that said, Korean food is AMAZING! I have had more soul food here than anywhere in my life! Let me expand on that; I love me some fried chicken, greens, beans, bacon, cornbread and any other un-healthy lard-soaked concoction you can throw at me...but WOW! Korean food is like the asian soul food! They DO NOT fuck around with food; especially pastries, but that's another entry entirely.

Here, I find that I'm much more adventurous with what I eat, and I tend not to ask what it is if it tastes good. I have kept a list of all of the gross and good things I've tried thus far. Ready? Okay. Here goes:
-Octopus, tentacles and all. Not so bad considering I had the suction cup things in my mouth...I didn't gag!
-Kimchi, now, Kimchi is a Korean side dish made of pickled cabbage, red chili pepper paste and some other stuff. I LOVE KIMCHI. It tastes amazing with almost every meal! I love it. Love. It.
-Kimbap, a sushi looking conglomoration of rice, pickled radish, carrot, what I hope was beef, mayo, velveta, and some other crap. It too, is awesome. Good for a light lunch.
-Kimchi dumplings, down the street from me is a dimsum resturant that serves these amazing little flavor packets. It's quite spicy, but well worth the heat. Steamed inside a dumpling is Kimchi. Wonderful while eating, not really about 6 hours later...if you know what I mean.
-Fish bread...I don't know the Korean name for it, but it's tripe mashed up into dough, then baked, folded, put on a stick and soaked in fish water for about an entire day. Eating it with soup is an excellent idea. Very tasty.
-Sea worm...still moving. I don't want to explain. Not my favorite.
-Sea Cucumber see above listing. No expansion needed for this. Gross.
-Korean noodles; AWESOME. Noodles and gravy. What more could one need in a lifetime?!?! Soooooo good.
-Turkish meat...The guy I'm rooming with cooked some for me, and it made me want to go to Istanbul immediately.
- Korean BBQ. Now, this was quite possibly my favorite meal in Korea to date. You grill your own meat at the table with spices, and there are little side dishes everywhere. Raw onions you can either eat, or grill. If you eat them raw, you dip them into some miso paste (I think that's what it was) and mow down! I love onions any way I can get them, so seeing this, I was instantly happy. It was filling, fun, and some of the best food I have ever...EVER tasted.

Alright, on to OMURICE. My new favorite food. A Japanese dish, it's rice wrapped in an egg. Simple, right? OH SO TASTY. It's sooooo good, and comforting to eat. It does tend to make me uncomfortably full though.

I have had so much practice with chopsticks now that I'm an old pro. I can eat rice, noodles, meat, ice cream, fruit, potatoes, pretty much anything. Well, except pudding. I can't do that yet...but give me time. I'll figure it out.

I love it here. I've made so many new cool friends and learned so much already; I don't think my brain can deal with it.
Love you all! Annyong-haseyo!

Advertisement



19th July 2010

YOU, YOU, YOU
Oh my goodness girl, how you can write! Thank you for taking us on your trip with you. Exciting, funny, informative. Wow! So glam. Am SO impressed. Glad you're having a good time. You've taken lemons and made Golden Margaritas. :-) Keep the blogs going and I hope we'll see a book from all this. You must be published! I'll buy. :-) Take Good Care My Dear, and I look forward to your next entry. Much Love!!!

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb