Halong Bay


Advertisement
Asia
May 25th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Halong BayHalong BayHalong Bay

First glimpse of our boat.
We took a bus from Ha Noi to Halong Bay...about three hours all together. None of us were sure what to expect as far as the boat went, since our itinerary said that we would be spending a night under the stars on a junk. Then we found out that we'd been upgraded to a 4 star boat, so we were pretty excited, but I don't think anyone was prepared for what we got. The boat was fabulous...wonderful cabins, air conditioned, the faciest washroom I've been in in over a month. And we had it all to ourselves.. Some pretty happy campers on the boat.

Halong Bay istself was absolutely breathtaking. I'm only including a few of the kajillion pictures that I took. We got on the boat, had an amazing seafood lunch...course after course, so it was really difficult for me to pace myself, since I had no idea what was coming next. Then we went kayaking...I didn't take my camera, but the views were awesome. Then had a great dinner and spent a relaxing evening taking pictures of the sunset and trying our hands at squid fishing.

Next day we had a light breakfast and then went
Indochina SailsIndochina SailsIndochina Sails

We realised we'd definitely landed on our feet.
to see the caves and the beach. My pictures of the caves didn't turn out that great because it was dark, but they were very cool.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

My room on the boatMy room on the boat
My room on the boat

I took a picture of the washroom, too, but am obviously far too classy to post it. ;)
yep, me againyep, me again
yep, me again

So many nice pictures to choose from, and this is the best I can do?
SunsetSunset
Sunset

I have so many of these...couldn't stop snapping..


27th May 2010
The Bay

cool the haze reminds me of San Fran,how mant of those islands are in the bay
27th May 2010
Yes, I was there

Betty
C'mon I know photo shop when I see it---How is your time at the Betty Ford going?Ok Ok you'r really there Was the water calm like that the whole time? It looked kind of choppy in earlier pic.
27th May 2010
A view from the mountain

artssee
Are the larger boats tours as well?New ent. stuff in NICE. But guess whose dvd player has non functioning digital sound output?Hello blue ray Friday---youch.
27th May 2010
yep, me again

You packed a hat?
I don't remember that T either.Take it easy! i'm going through the cash like crazy here too. You look very nice!What is the area of the bay? That is just beautiful--cool.
27th May 2010
Sunset

good
I am looking forward to seeing the series-that is just lovely!!almost as clear as pic on new unit. I think computer will connect, that would be really neat will check Fri.
27th May 2010

test
I'm just checking if this works...

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb