Hanoi Tears


Advertisement
Asia
May 10th 2010
Published: May 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Backing up a bit for a second. I shared my train compartment with three Vietnamese men. I arrived soaked to the bone and of course I was a sight for sore eyes. I took their laughter and staring with good humour. The only advice Dad gave me before I left was to use and trust my instinct. I have tried to do this every day but I have often been wrong. My instinct told me that I didn't want them to close/lock the train compartment door but I was in a tricky situation. I planned what I would do if things got hairy. I would just spend the night outside the cabin in plain view of everyone or I would walk to another cabin. I prayed before I went to sleep. I slept well and the men kept to themselves- of course that instinct was wrong again but at least it had given me the chance to see myself as vulnerable as the last few days have made me feel very empowered and strong. I landed back to earth with practical thoughts. I also think this helped me today as I realised later that loss of items would be nothing compared to other nasty things that might be waiting.

We pulled into Hanoi at 4.30am and by 5am I was back at the backpackers and glad to be 'home'. After a shower and some breakfast I wanted to download my precious Sapa photos and catch up on some blog entries. Things began to fall apart shortly after so I'll just cut to the chase. Somehow I managed to disable both of my cameras and I have lost ALL of my wonderful Sapa photos. Every single one. Take a second to digest that. My 300+ photos are forever lost.

So, somehow both my memory cards have many, many viruses. Probably picked up from the Hanoi Backpacker's computers as I plugged them in there this morning. At the same time I have also smashed my LCD screen on my Sony SLR camera. I honestly don't know how this happened as it was definately not dropped. The only thing I can think of is that it might have been squashed in the throng when we were all crammed into the train station during the storm last night.

After some tears I got myself together and went in search of a camera shop. They confirmed the direness of the situation and the only thing they could do was sell me a new memory card for my big camera. At least I can still use it to take photos but the only way I can view them is once they are on a computer, cd, dvd or thumb drive. So, a big call out to anyone who knows a magic computer man/lady. I am sending the 'virused' cards home. My only hope is to find someone clever enough to either clean off the viruses or recover the data. Otherwise- all is lost. I am hopeful that my travel insurance will cover the cost of a new LCD screen when I get home. Does anyone have any experience with that? Are they likely to say that it was my fault and not cover?
So, today I have had bad camera luck. Both at once - who would believe it? The money that I saved on a nice Sapa souvenir has been spent already. Bummer big time but I guess I knew the risk, still it's not been such a good day today.

Advertisement



10th May 2010

Oh Dear!
Oh chloe you poor wee thing! What a crappy week! Note to self Sapa is not nice to chloe, I cant believe you got viruses on both your cards, I didnt even know you could get viruses on your memory card?? Well I guess it can only get better from here right? Where are you off to next, China or Lao? I'm sure either one will be nicer to you than Vietnam :( Let me know if you want me to bring you anything special (its only 43 sleeps) like chocolate, vegemite (the spread) etc. What about a new card for your small camera? I hope your week improves, thinking of you xx Lisa
10th May 2010

Lovely Lisa Legs
Thanks Lisa, I know crap crap crap. I'm over it now though but it took me most of the day. Luckily i had a spare memory card for the small one so I didn't have to buy that today. I'm gutted about the old virused memory card for the bigger camera cos it was a 16gb and really expensive. All I can do is hope that it can be cleaned out at home so at least it can be used again. There really is nothing that i need as this stage. Mum is collecting a small variety of essentials like a new tooth brush head and the dental floss that i like. Other than that I hope you can fit my bikinis in and that will probably be it. I wanted to tell you that lots and lots and lots of people have those mini lap tops here. There is free wifi almost everywhere and some poeple have told me that you can pick these small computers up for as little as $200. I think you should consider it as that way you have constant access to skype, internet banking and most significant right now is that when you download your photos from your camera you won't have to worry about viruses. I will definately get one before Africa. Just something to consdier. I was totally against them before i came away but I have changed my mind big time. Thanks for the sympathy. It eally does help to know that people care when something shit happens. See you in 43 sleeps!!!!
11th May 2010

Viruses
Hello my darling. What a bummer BIG time!!! Zoe said she's hopeful that it might be possible to clean the viruses. I will ask our school IT guy what he thinks. Maybe Daniel's mate Tom who is a computer guru might know too. Let's be positive. Meanwhile I can understand your pain..... the only positive is that at least it is not the whole trip photos. I was interested to read your comment to Lisa that you are in favour of the little 'netbook' computers now. They are so cheap too and would really save you having to use computers in internet cafes etc. We started NAPLAN today and most of my kids wrote the most obvious, boring stories on the topic 'What A Mess!' Never mind! All my love, Mum.
11th May 2010

OMG Chloe not a good day at all. Think positive that at least some of the photos may be able to be recovered and at least you can still use your big camera. I guess these are things that happen, even though it sucks right now. Everyone at school says hi and we have received your postcards, they are very happy to hear you are enjoying your travelling experiences. I'm sure there are still many more wonderful experiences ahead of you that will far outweigh your bad luck. Lotsa love Carrie xx

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb