Day 31- 32


Advertisement
Asia
March 26th 2010
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 31 - Got the MTR (underground) to the Cable Car station that would take me to the Big Buddha. I was up really early so beat the crowds. Got a carriage all to myself which was nice. Its very high up and goes over several hills and lasts about 20mins. Dad would not have enjoyed it as it was quite windy in some places and the carriage rocked quite a lot. Seein the Big Buddha and attached monastry was really good.... it really was very big. Saw loads of these lovely big black butterflies floating around which was nice. I had chosen the right time to come as when I was leaving, the crowds of tourists started to swarm! Made it back to Central and then deceided that even though it was cloudy, I would do the peak tram as I may not get chance if I kept putting it off. It was of course well cloudy but an experience none the less. I went right to the top myself by walking up Mt Albert Road. I have decided if I win the lottery then I want to live there! Its so amazing even without a view. Sun came out briefly at the top on the southern side of the island . SAw lots of Sea Eagles flying out which was cool. Came back down and realised that I needed to go back and get ready for my night out with some of the Vodka train people. Jo my friend at the hostel decided to come along too which was nice. We had a really fun night out, especially when we got to Joe Bananas bar where the girls got free margaritas!! Woop Woop! Me and Jo had our fill and spent the evening prancing around on the empty dancefloor like idiots! I then fell out of the bar down three steps. Me and Jo left the boys to it and sang the taxi driver a very brilliant version of the Britney Spears song, Outrageous! It was nice to see the lads again and they did all comment that I looked totally different as I was no longer dressed like an artic explorer and I had a big fat smile across my face... may have had something to do with the Margaritas but mainly because I was loving Hong Kong! Wooooooo!

Day 32 - Suprisingly didn't wake up with a hangover but did wake up with the most enormous bruise from last nights stairs incident - managed to get all of my ankle and shin involved (still bruised a bit now 11days later). I headed off to Ocean Park on the south side of the island. Was a bit expensive but worth it just to see a Panda in real life... they are so so huge. Went on a rollercoaster and saw a cool dolphin show. It was getting really hot as the sun was out fully on the south part of Honk Kong Island. Then caught the bus to Stanley, bought a ridiculous hat and headed back on the bus to Repulse Bay. It was 26C and gorgeous. I sat on the beach, had a little paddle, read my book, walked over a bridge at the end of the beach which is supposed to increase your life by three days (least that cancels out the other nights drinking). Then headed back to cloudy north and met with Jo (who had actually made it on her Charity Hike) and hung out with another girl Ellie (who was coming to Bangkok with me-only met the day b4!) and some Canadians. They all took the mick out of my hat but seceretly I think they were just jealous!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb