Day Five - Badami - Gokana


Advertisement
Asia
March 10th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Given crap nights sleep, it was no surprise that I was up early. Both Dirk and myself decided best to go the caves, then breakfast, then head off.

Fortunately the caves themselves weren't too far waway so we walked ther, passing people in the street pissing next to where other people were doing their teeth?! The caves themselves were ok, they weren't great but a lot better than the rest of Badami I suppose!
Now when travelling, it always feel awkward or wrong to take pictures of the locals, it appears they don't worry so much as having looked at all the caves, when we were sat down, a guy came along sat between us, put an arm around each of us and proceeded to get someone to take a picture, then his kid did all the while not asking. Now this is where something strange happened but in comparison to the next day, it seems to pale in comparison now looking back, for five guys approached me and got each of their photos taken with me shaking their hand...not sure why...felt more than a bit weird though and just to top it off, before leaving the caves, a kid approached us, asked my name and when I replied he simply just said Philo, Beautiful Phil....I thought thanks...I'll add you as a freind of facebook...actually on second thoughts that aint gonna work is it!

So off we went, had some breakfast in a locals place, which was obviously filthy and the food was foul, so that was the best 10 rupees I've ever spent. I forget now where Dirk was going but as my bus to Hubli was at 9.15, we said out goodbyes and off I went to get my bus. Well is ay catch my bus, what I obviously mean it spend a hot and infuriating 2 and a half hours waiting for no bus, only to then be told to catch a diffrent bus (as my one was no longer coming) to Juripuri crossroads, from where I could then get a bus to Hubli. This I did and after half an hour journey and a ten minute wait a 'juripuri' I was Hubli bound.
Apart from the usual noise etc the bus journey was pretty uneventful apart from that at one point we seem to pass through what looked to be a field with people all parked up as if a festival or something was going on. By now I had at least kinda got used to crowds in India, but seriously there were 10,000's of people there - or at least it seemed there were.
Eventually the magical place of Hubli was reached. Now I hadn't decided whether to go to gorkana or Goa but thought dependant on buses etc I would make the decision later. When I arrived I was told that the Gokarna bus was going in five mins the goa was an overnight bus and so wouldn't be going anywhere till ten o clock. Given it was 2.25 I went for the former....so off I went in the bus stop to Gokarnas general direction.
Only when I arrived I was told that it didn't go directly to Gokarna but when to Ankola which was like 20-30 kms away and that I could get there from there....as the bus was leaving as I was being told this...I decided to sod it and go for it...after being spontaneous is all what this is about right?
Eventually we arrived at Angola and despite wondering what I would do if no connecting bus/rickshaws etc were there as I had no idea how big or otherwise Angola was. Fortunately the risk paid off and a bus left for gokarna 20 mins after I arrived...HAPPY DAYS FOR ONCE, SOMETHING GOING FOR ME!
Got to Go-karna about 8 o clokc and then managed to find an ok (I wont say it was brilliant but its all reletive I suppose) room for 80 rupees! I then had a quick bit to eat before returning back to my bed for what I hoped would be a good nights rest....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb