Sights, Smells and Seers


Advertisement
Asia
October 22nd 2009
Published: November 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

*Disclaimer: Have lost all photo's up to Inle Lake, sorry*



Only spent one full day in Yangon, possibly I have not given the city it's due in leaving so fast but although it has it's charms, it's a city. I got very lost everywhere I went and just needed to be somewhere smaller.

On arriving at Yangon airport an exceedingly nice taxi organising lady decided she liked my face and gave me a cheap price for one of her taxis, alas though, none of her taxi drivers appeared to like my face as (to a man) they were steadfast in their refusal to take me (how very lowering!). Got there eventually though, by dint of paying one extra dollar. Phew! Went to Shwedagon Pagoda that night, a vast glittering complex of temples around which the city has grown. I had wanted to get there for sunset but unfortunately the sun (being unable to wait whilst I took wrong turn after wrong turn) pre-empted me and set just before I arrived. None the less the place is incredible, and enormous, I got lost (of course) and eventually acquired yet another impromptu guide who showed me the ropes. I found the post for those born Wednesday afternoon (that's me) and did the obligatory to pay my respects there, quite a moving experience - at least it was, until great flashes of light caused me to look up to find a group of tourists cheerfully recording (and ruining) the moment for eternity. My guide also showed me several spots where one could see different colours shining from the diamond atop the spire (not sure that's quite the right term) of the dome. Red, green, yellow and white (although looked more blue to me), tried to take some photos but they didn't come out that well.

After my jaunt around the pagoda I went in the search of some food. Now, I swear blind I followed the map to the letter, but instead of ending up where I wanted to be (street with lots of food on offer) I seemed to be lost in a tangle of dark alleyways. No street lights, no pavements and definitely no food. I did come across a couple of street cafe/bar type things but they were frequented by men only, had no spare seats, were swathed in great plumes of smoke and, ever the intrepid adventurer, I elected no to intrude.

Retreating to the hotel I ordered the Hot and Sour Chicken, not wanting anything spicy you understand. Those of you slightly sharper than I will have realised that the clue to this dish lies in it's name Hot and sour Chicken and yes, it did what it said on the tin. I had lips to rival Leslie Ash by the time I'd completed that meal, delicious though.

Next day I attempted the walk into town and, expecting an unpleasant slog (on the advice of my fellow travelers) I was pleasantly surprised to find it a rather pleasant 40 minute stroll into town. People spread their wares all across the pavements, which meant I had to be a little more fleet of feet than usual but not once did I end up in one of the (very many) open drains, a feat of which I am greatly proud. It wasn't exactly scenic I suppose but I found it fascinating to watch daily life unfold around me, there were stalls selling rusty nails and screws, car parts, petrol in plastic bottles, great long iron chains (clearly pre used), street food and, of course, numerous bettlenut stalls. Everywhere people would call out hello's, or offer shy smiles. Honestly, what's not to love!

As I ambled round town I elected to visit one of the numerous fortune tellers that line the street beside the park (or should I say one of the numerous fortune tellers elected to tell my fortune, virtually manhandling me onto the rock beside him). Lucky he did however as it would seem my future is to be very bright indeed, please do read on:

Prophecy no 1 -


I am lucky, lucky, lucky! Yes, although it may not seem like it at times my life is overshadowed by great and constant luck. Of course, the wily beggar did not advise whether said luck was of the good or bad variety, I have my suspicions however.

Prophecy no 2 -


Marriage. I must wait until after I am 30 before entering the married state (struck lucky there then!) but, alas, it would seem my window of opportunity is small: 10/07/10 to 11/07/11 to be precise. Yikes! Best get a shoogle on. Any guys out there keen to snag themselves one slightly myopic female, but blessed with an exceptional memory (don't laugh! I have on the best of authority that with a mound of Venus like mine my memory can only be of the highest standard), please step forward with alacrity!

Prophecy no 3 -


Fame and fortune. Stardom and great riches await (now if that doesn't induce man or two to step up for prophecy no 2 nothing will), I am to become very famous within... (brace yourselves for this one) the world of music!!! (and breathe...) OK, so I cannot blame you for laughing, I too uttered a smothered guffaw at this unexpected news, as I sincerely doubt the world will ever be ready to embrace me in a musical capacity of any sort. My soothsayer was not content to leave things at this though, he consulted charts, drew diagrams and eventually, looking up at me with cheerful eyes he announced that my fame lay by way of becoming a great pop star. Upon hearing this all self control fled and I erupted into peels of laughter. As punishment for being so very rude, I laughed myself off of my rocky perch and straight onto the concrete beneath, nearly breaking a hip in the process.

At this point, although he seemed keen to read more of my future, I decided that for the sake of life and limb I must call it quits. So, despite his protestations that there was more to learn, I paid him handsomely and hobbled back to the hotel to pack for my next adventure.


Advertisement



6th November 2009

ha ha right madonna you definately have to join in at the lunch trolley sing a long now!!! hows the pants holding up xx
7th November 2009

can imagine your face when you tried the HOT and sour chicken. Duuuhh! bet the smells from the street sellers are wonderful. drool drool. we had Isla's leaving 'do' last night and was well attended, and where we also extolled your writing and story-telling skills, keep on doing it girl. xxx
8th November 2009

Pants
Pants are holding up just fine thanks (indeed, a little too well due to all the delicious food I'm scoffing!), am reduced to wearing only one pair at the mo as fed up with constant packing/unpacking.
17th November 2009

so funny
Still loving all your tales Jennifer, even worth missing out on silly internet games, which I hasten to add I'm addicted to, much better than the telly, and your stories better than both, keep them coming, they make me laugh out loud, billy and craig think I've gone mad . . . dont say a word, take care and continue to having a fabulous time xx

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb