Another Quick update!


Advertisement
Asia
October 7th 2009
Published: October 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I managed to refund my ticket via phone which worked out great. I then spent teh whole day fighting with Tuk Tuk drivers and haggling over prices etc etc. If you have ever been in a Tuk Tuk you will know what I mean. If you never have, avoid them like the plague.

I am tired of the hustle and bustle already. People just heckling and heckling and heckling you or trying to rip you off cause you're white. I am also slightly cynical because traveling alone in a place like this is quite stressful so I am not enjoying that aspect but I am loving the scenery, the cheapness and the people (travelors) I am meeting.

I saw some amazing temples such as Wat Po which boasts a 43m long gold Buddha with Mother of Pearl foot soles and is one of the oldest temples in Bangkok. I saw some other temples but many were under repair so they weren't as spectacular as they cuold've been. I climbed atop some giant gold pyramid which was cool and had much more street vendor food. I got pretty complacent just stitting in Bangkok. I think I was adjusting to being on my own again and finally getting used to the new culture and the hustle and bustle of it all. I missed the Tiger Temple because I had to get out of Bangkok but I will likely catchit on my last few days of shopping in Bangkok before my flight leaves early December.

I ran south on a night bus to Koh Pan ngang or however it is spelt for the full moon party and met up with an amazing crew that I spent the last few days with. We went to a resort called Had Yuan, which is basically just north of the busy full moon party beach but private and only accessible via taxi boat. It was 300 baht per night and paradise. Split between two people it is 150! How good is that!

We ferried into Had Rin (full moon beach) for teh evenings of partying till the sun came up with buckets. These are 500mL of whatever booze you choose, a can of red bull (they are illegal outside thailand because they are about 3 times stronger than ours), and some sort of soft drink. It was a great time but led into late mornings and crazy times.

The full moon party was even wilder. There was fire limbo, fire jump rope, slides sprung up from roof tops, the beach bars turned into wild outdoor parties with DJ's just blaring music on the beaches. People were selling candle lite hot air balloons, every manner or clothing, body paint, tattoos, beers etc just walking along the beach. There were sleeping areas and first aid tents set up as well which is good to see considering the scale of the celebration. As fun as it was it is basically just loud music and people dancing the whole night away.

My camera also was stolen here which is to be expected at such an event. It was a huge damper on my night and I have since acquired another one which doesn't make me happy because I miss my camera, we had been through so many adventures and I am only starting to warm up to my new camera.

Stayed up till the sun came up with some mates, went back to our resort. Crashed, and then just lazed on the beach all day and ran into a girl I knew from the U of A which was wild but good to see a friendly face. I left for Krabi today to head to Koh Phi Phi for some diving and just to escape from the crazy party scene of Had Rin and relax and to appease my jitters of being in one place for too long.

I will start having exciting adventures soon so be prepared! I missed Koh Tao but will get it on my way back up. Hopefully I can see a whale shark when I go there! I doubt it but it is possible =)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb