Travelling


Advertisement
Asia
January 22nd 2006
Published: January 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My route

This is a lot faster than sailing around Africa!

The PekingThe PekingThe Peking

The Peking is a 1911 sailing ship.
If I had planned to go to Thailand and India 200 years ago I would have had to take a sailing ship. It would have taken many months to go to Europe and then down around the southern tip of Africa and back up to the Indian Subcontinent.

After 1869 the trip would have gotten easier. For one thing there were steamships by then and for another that was the year that the Suez Canal opened in Egypt allowing ships to go straight from the Mediterranian into the Red Sea then out into the Bay of Bengal where I could have safely landed in India going less than half the distance.

Either way the trip would have taken several months and I couldn't have been precisely sure of my date of arrival.

Now that we have planes the trip is less rocky, less dangerous and much shorter. I fly from New York to Bangkok in about 24 hours.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



24th January 2006

Even so, the trip seems plenty long to me...
Dad and I have been tracking your flight on the computer - over the North Pole - to Japan. It's Tuesday morning at 5:00 am EST here, 4:00 pm, I guess, in the afternoon in Thailand? Hmm, what might you be doing? (Dad is making a fire with one of his firestarter concoctions. I'm creating some graphs for my budget meeting tomorrow.) Hope you had a good flight.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb