11.20.08 Lunch/Dinner Parties


Advertisement
Asia
November 20th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend was a weekend of work for me! My students have wanted me to teach them to cook. So Saturday I had the four oldest girls at the school over for a cooking lesson. The menu included spaghetti, salad, garlic bread and brownies. One of the Chinese teachers was also supposed to come, but her grandmother got sick so she had to go home for the weekend. The day went really well. The students worked together to cook everything, set the table and do dishes even! They loved the brownies-which are a rare treat found only at Metro (similar to Costco back home-and the only place to find any western food in Chongqing). Afterwards we played uno. Then I tried to teach them Euchre. Two of the students caught on and loved it; the other two were over trying after about ten minutes. We ended the day with a movie.

Sunday, I had Luke, Megan, Kim and two teachers Kim works with over for Tacos. I found some hard shells and seasoning when I went to Chendu; and then I have taught myself to make flour tortillas. I also made homemade Spanish rice-which was not so great, but edible. I am turning into Martha Stewart living in China because there is no normal food!

After dinner we played Catch Phrase, which Luke and Megan brought with them. I miss this game! And also a modified version of uno that Luke taught us.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb