Bangkok


Advertisement
Asia
May 3rd 2008
Published: May 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buying fruitBuying fruitBuying fruit

Yum! I forgot how good Asian pineapple is. It isn't acidic like ours.
I made it! My first few days in Bangkok have been good! I've trawled the plazas (I haven't bought anything worth mentioning) and whittled away most of my time by eating! Plus I've been brave, and with Yuda's encouragement, I have been using the public buses AND eating street food.

The buses are SO MUCH cheaper than a taxi. The most expensive fare I've paid so far was about 40 cents. We get quite a few looks, as we're always the only farang (foreigners) on board but it's all okay. I was scared at first but I've come to realise that they are probably safer (and more comfortable) than the 57 West Maribyrnong tram!

The food is fantastic. ...but I already knew that! So far I'm averaging about four meals a day... I will try harder to eat like a normal person so I don't puff up too much... but it's all so yummy!

Last night we had a little adventure... we caught the bus to visit Yuda's brother and his family in the Bangkok 'burbs. When we got off the bus it was raining a little... and two minutes later it was POURING! Thank god I had
SkytrainSkytrainSkytrain

Outside the Paragon et al.
my umbrella! We still got VERY wet. After walking about a kilometre in the pouring rain we realised we had gone in the wrong direction. Wandering around the suburban bkk streets, in a downpour and in the dark, attracted the attention of some stray dogs... who started following us and barking. It was quite frightening! In the end we wussed out and called Yuda's brother... He rode his motorbike out to us and walked us to his place.

I've been sitting in a hideous, expensive Irish Pub for the last two hours (because they have free wifi) and I have to leave now because the sleazy drunk American flirting with the Thai waitresses is making me sick. Keep me up to date with everything going on back home.

Trina
xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Suburban Bangkok downpourSuburban Bangkok downpour
Suburban Bangkok downpour

This was not so much fun.
DrinksDrinks
Drinks

End of day drinks at Sawasdee. The waitresses are lovely and one of them remembers Yuda from last time! She said he used to be "much more fat"!


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb