The Boys Are Back In Town/ a whole new bag o tricks


Advertisement
Asia
April 28th 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Salamat bagi,

yo friends! I have a short but sweet entry to make here. As most of you know I've been traveling and working in SE Asia since June. There are a few pics from the brotherhood reunion in Bali a few months back... they are all I could upload before the fateful Bali/Teisto/pool/sweetest night I'd had in a while incident, in which my camera was waterlogged and some Russian dude had to visit the ATM for replacement funds. BUT! thats neither here nore there and hope is in the air a new camera will be appearing shortly.

So Here's a Will style list of loves and losses since creating some semblance of a life working on the road.

+ hmmm this ones easy... IM IN SE ASIA GETTING PAID TO DO WHAT I USED TO PAY TO DO!!!

- no home, no kitchen, no clothes, no ........ structure/stability/substance beyond making people I don't know feel like I've always known them so they can have fun until they leave me to go somewhere else and Im all alone again.(by the way im not bitter just giving my people intro into my new lifestyle)

+ Making new
uli wahtuuli wahtuuli wahtu

nikki having fun at the temple
friends, local and other, while simultaneously learning so much about the region I will be more than able to write a series of "What to do in SE Asia novels" and make a million dong (about 59.82 smackers US)

- Making great friends with co workers, not seeing them for months on end, then proceeding while together to complain/complement our groups while getting blinded off the drink until someone falls down and we have to go home. By the way I never seem to be the one falling down😊

+ ohhh the adventure...... Everyday and adventure.... It could be dodging traffic in Saigon, taking a motorbike trip to an uncharted jungle, even finding a dvd player for some much needed chill time with me myself and I and not feeling a moments guilt about it.

- forever looking for toilets, atm, and laundry facilities.. then having to coax people into believing I live here so I can get a local style price.

+ tips, time off, trekking to new places I have never seen

- herding people on the same road I was just down the week before while remembering I love/loved it

+ whoa that ole mystical change in the seasons here.... watching rivers rise and change direction. walking in an hour rain where 3 inches of rain has fallen and loving every minute.

- no more pizza, vivace coffee (sup Seattle), or chill out nights with my homies.

+ life

+ living life

+ doing things most people would be to scared to attempt

+ doing things some people would lose there left arm to be apart of (no offense lefties)

+ man o man being apart of a lifestyle that you truly can't describe... Living one day to the next having only a small idea what that day will provide. And being Perfectly able to navigate through any situation with only my knowledge and heart to provide split second answers to questions most will never have a chance to ask and even less will be apart of answering.

I promise as time goes racing by I'll take some more time to sit down and capture some stories that are now commonplace to me and share then with you the people I love.

Miss you all,

Will

aka the camel


last but DEFIANTLY not least I'd like to announce something I'm very proud of My little sister Amanda gave birth to Lily Kathlyn Jones on Friday, July 11th. I'm sad I can't be there to welcome in the newest member of the family but hope someday I'll be able to tell her stories of uncie Will's big adventures. Love Ya SIS!!

Advertisement



22nd July 2008

!
so happy to hear you're happy and doing what you love... congrats on the baby niece! might run into you sometime in the distant future by way of indonesia and the philippines. planning a big 6-8 month trip for 09! xoxo m
23rd July 2008

so happy for you!
I am so glad to hear that your new life suits you so well. It takes someone special to give up all stability in exchange for unlimited adventure. Sorry I didn't get to see you before you left town. Keep the photos and stories coming!
25th July 2008

Giggiddy
Yo will, keep the stories of your travels flowing. I miss our adventures (broken cameras and black eyes) and look fwd to catching up on a bike trip in a country near you!
20th August 2008

seattle misses the camel!
ahhh... good to hear from ya, keep'em coming.
3rd September 2008

new number
here's my new number in case you ever make it back to the NW. 206.372.5262

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb