Flight and Bangkok Airport


Advertisement
Asia
December 14th 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Two TravellersTwo TravellersTwo Travellers

My sister and I before departure at Sydney Airport
The flight departs Sydney airport at 5:30pm, so when I jump out of bed I have 10 hours to departure. Time to start squeezing all that gear into the two bags. Need to leave home at about 1pm to make the airport, so I have about 6 hours to get ready ... oops, I still need:
- Padlocks for the bags;
- Velcro strips for the cables;
- Some new board shorts and decent towel (I have been putting off getting new ones all spring);
- the GPS, my good one wouldn't talk to my camera
- Bug replant, razor blades, aloe versa gel etc;

So after breakfast and some initial packing I race off to the shops at 8am for the final pieces of equipment.

Finally, all the shopping is done and I have 3 hours left till I have to leave.

Time to squeeze everything into my 90L pack and a 30L camera bag.
40min later all the camera and electronic gear is in waterproof bags in my camera bag and its time to attack my main
Bangkok PagodaBangkok PagodaBangkok Pagoda

Bangkok Airport
pack.

OK, in goes the sleeping bag, towel and thermals, line the bag, now where to go next. In go the clothes and im left with all the power cables, boards, water bottle, medical kit etc, they will fit on the outside.

Oh no wait a minute, last time I had stuff that wasn't deformable I ended up with sun cream all through the top of my pack. The top is still stained after 2 years. So after packing and repacking another 2 times, I am finally ready to leave.

Damn, now what's the time ... 12:40pm. Damn only 20min to clean up a bit and get out the door. Quick, time to leave .. yes I have my bags, keys, wallet and passport now out the door and to the bus. Wow, made it with 2min to spare ... no mobile and I have to meet my sister and parents ... bolt back inside and grab the mobile .. damn, missed the bus and had to catch an all-stops bus ... well at least I will still get to the Airport with 2.5 hours to spare.

Finally arrive, check in and take the mandatory departure photos. You know the one, the one before my sister and I are at each others throat.
Through customs and depart on time for the first of two 11 hour legs to London. Two hours into the first leg to Bangkok, dinner is eaten so now for the in flight entertainment. Then the announcement over the PA:
“the entertainment system has some problems. We have been in contact with London, and it will be fixed
on the ground when we land in Bangkok.”

No book, so time to grab my laptop and start this blog.

We finally arrive in Bangkok Airport for a 1 hour stopover and wander around the airport for a while.

Very interesting airport with some great architecture, some gold coloured statues and a small pagoda. Good for a 1 hour stretch of the legs before the next 11 hour leg to London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bangkok AirportBangkok Airport
Bangkok Airport

Me in Bangkok Airport


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb