The journey to Indonesia


Advertisement
Asia
April 21st 2018
Published: April 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Where to start?
Leaving Malta at 4:30am was no big deal as I’m used to early morning starts and guess what ... I’m going on an adventure so there’s no time to be tired!!! Lol ?
Flight 1 to London was the usual monotonous 3hrs journey, then a quick change of terminals and I made myself comfortable in heathrow for the 5 hour wait for the real journey to begin.
I flew emirates to Dubai in let’s say a very large machine! It had an upstairs but of course that was off limits for the economy people. Nevertheless economy in emirates is first class if you ask me and the flight was almost empty so it was 3 seats to myself for the short 6 hr trip over. Nice! ?
Transiting for 2hrs in Dubai at 3am was alright actually until every coffee shop I got to was “just closing”. Needed to stay awake despite the loungers looking invitingly comfortable - so you can always count on McDonald’s to be open but it was anything but fast (“fast food”) ... took me like 15mins just to get a coffee and the woman forgot my bottle of water but no drama ... I’m half way to Indonesia! Yay!
Next flight, also emirates took 8hrs from Dubai to Jakarta. I was at the window but unfortunately a wheelchair bound person was in the aisle seat, so no chance to get out for the full duration! I probably slept about 2hrs and with all the time changes, I finally arrived at about 3:30pm.
BUT, just because 3 flights were not enough, onto my 4th flight from Jakarta to Yogyakarta, although it was about a 2km walk to change terminals even after taking the sky train!!! ??
I’m ready at the gate and raring to go and then ... an hours delay. Ok, so I had read about Indonesian airlines frequently being delayed but not NOW, not after 3 flights and almost 48hours of traveling!
Getting to the plane wasn’t that simple either. We got on a bus that stopped outside what I thought was my plane, someone looked at my ticket and ushered me up some stairs which looked like they went back to the terminal building, whilst others went straight onto the tarmac towards the plane. Nooooo, please let me catch my flight! So anyway these stairs I was ushered up, only led to the forward entrance of the plain, despite having seat 16c which was toward the middle-back of the plane!!! Ahahahahaha!
Ok so then I’m on the plane, REALLY READY TO GO and we end up sitting on the tarmac for another hour. Will I ever get there? Yep, after sitting on a plane next to a woman who fancied both her seat and mine ... yep I had her elbow, shoulders and head to contend with (good job it was a short 1hr flight) ... I finally arrived!!!
My taxi driver was so smiley and had the most infectious laugh (I wish I had filmed him) and 30mins later I was at my hostel with a cold beer in hand ... only the one mind, as they decided to stop selling beer at the hostel (whaaaat?!). A quick shower and some rest. I’m here and I can’t wait to explore tomorrow ???


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb