My Second Natural Wonder


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam
July 25th 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend I went to one of the United Nations World Heritage Seven natural wonders of the world. The trip to Halong Bay began by taxi to a travel agency/fruit stand by 8 AM. A minibus picked us and we rode for about 2 hours then stopped at a handicraft center, built to provide work for disabled children. I gathered those were children born after U.S. chemicals were dropped in Vietnam War. They do embroidery, pottery, and statues (some much larger than life size) in a huge location.



Once at the dock of Halong Bay there were throngs of tourists from South America, U.S., Europe, and many countries of Asia. I only saw one other person of color, a woman who may have been American. Tenders, or taxi boats, took us to our cruiser, a ship that sleeps 24 passengers. After a nice lunch we headed out to a floating village where people still live in traditional ways; homes now built on large pieces of styrofoam. Some live from fish farming, some catering to tourists. We rented kayaks (yes, I did!) and paddled through lagoons and around islands. Occasional drizzles of rain were no problem since we were wet anyway.



On the ship we made spring rolls with the chef. It was impossible to recognize my own, but all were delicious. There was also squid. I am not usually a big fan but this was the best I’ve had. The evening passed watching the scenery from the top deck and then some karaoke fun. In the morning we visited a humongous cave, along with hundreds of other visitors, then went to Ti Top Island, to climb the 425 steps for a panoramic view of the bay. Not too many others were up there, and I made it all the way up, —and down.



The bay has geological limestone formed several million years ago under the water. There are now over 2000 islands through which ships meander. Incredible that the visit was just 24 hours. God has given us so much beauty to enjoy.



THE PRICE TO PAY

When the opportunity came for me to come to Vietnam, I had a number of misgivings. Chief among them was that I was coming to a school where tuition is for the privileged—when I want to give service where students have little. But to bring in foreign teachers schools must have considerable resources. So I am working on seeing different ways I can give where I am. There will be some local places where I can be useful after hours of my responsibilities. I can enjoy those I meet in the community and bring something good to them, even if just to show someone from a totally different environment wants to be among them and share their world. Petty annoyances have to put aside if I am to enjoy the benefits that are offered.





Now I’ve seen of two of the seven natural wonders (Table Mountain in South Africa was the first). Five more to go.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb