Saigon Yoga


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
April 6th 2006
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ganesha on Sri Meenakshi TempleGanesha on Sri Meenakshi TempleGanesha on Sri Meenakshi Temple

Madurai, Tamil Nadu, South India
As I lay mediatating in Tamil Nadu, I longed for cooler Himalayan climate - a breeze - or even for the electricity to come back on so my ceiling fan would move. It's hard for me to clear my mind here in India - thoughts rudely crowd my meditation. My senses are too open.

I remembered my last yoga class. I miss the guidance of a class - someone else's brain doing the work of reminding me what pose is coming my way next. I had a great one in the States before we left which I dragged Rich to, and the other was in Saigon. Apart from that, I've been on my own.

I saw a sign in a traveller cafe (Sinh Cafe on De Tham Street) for Saigonyoga.com. I looked it up and headed over. It had US prices ($10/class), but I decided to treat myself. I found out they have a $20/week traveller pass -- all the classes you want. It's hard to find, set down an alley in the middle of a block on the other side of the city from Pham Ngu Lao. But the trip is worth it. Follow the red namaste signs. It is an exquisite space. Clean. Pristine. Brand New. A warm welcome. You're given a locker and clean, fresh, fluffy towels. The studio is mirrored and this basic hatha class turned into a sauna with 20 people moving with windows shut. But it was a solid class. Albeit hot. (Hot yoga's not my favorite, but I'll do it). You won't sweat again as much in your life until you meditate in Tamil Nadu in April.

After the class is over, travellers, locals, expats, enjoy fresh melon and pineapple. Share backgrounds. Simple. Thoughtful. Something to remember.

This place is worth checking out for travellers in need of a respit from HCMC traffic.

www.saigonyoga.com

AEH

Advertisement



26th April 2006

long time no see
facinating pictures and information i wish i was there experiencing every moment thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings with us love myrna your exploration has been awesome ! ilove the pictures of you luv kat

Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 11; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb