The budget way


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
December 5th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It hit me like a speeding train tonight that I only have 3 days left in Saigon! Time has gone by so very fast!
Just as I predicted my vietnamese practice has been getting harder and harder. I spend a lot of time these days visiting with a vietnamese friend I had made on the first day that I arrived in Saigon. He doesn't speak english, but he has been my best teacher of vietnamese, and is always so very patient with my ability.

I think now, I should explain how to travel on a "shoestring" or "small and ever-shrinking" budget!
So here is my advice! Take it or leave it...

Don't drink (beer/whisky/wine).
Don't smoke. (anything!)

Eat local, also called eating outside. Eating local is by far one of the best ways to save money, and obtain a cultural experience at the same time. Besides, the food is much better, and more authentic than in the bars and touristy restaurants (and sometimes even more sanitary!).

Don't use taxis of any kind (if you are in good health). Use your feet, or maybe see about renting a bycicle.

Don't buy souvenirs at the souvenir shops. Not only will you be charged too much. You will also be giving your money to people who dont need it as much. Find a local shop and buy something from there. They will probably charge you a more fair price anyway. Of course, if you really want to save money: don't buy anything you don't absolutely need.

Find a small hotel away from the main streets. There are many small, family run hotels in most cities of the world. Its best if you do your research ahead of time about what kind of prices to expect.

Finally. Dont be shy! Talk to people! Most locals are very curious and friendly toward foreigners. Even when you don't share a common language, you may make a friend just by giving it your best effort. This last bit of advice is good even if you are not on a budget, so get out there and make some friends!


In my next blog entry I will be uploading pictures, and detail the contents of my comprehensive travel kit (which weighs just over 10lbs/5kg!) and which I will be living out of for the next six months or more.
After that entry, it may be a while before I am able to post another depending on the availablity of internet cafes in the countryside.

--ZW

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb