Saigon Birthday


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 28th 2009
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived on January 25 in Saigon and the airport was nuts because of Chinese New Year. I can honestly say I won't miss cab drivers trying to charge me 3 times the rate or taking me somewhere I don't want to go! It's getting tiring always feeling like I have to defend myself against being ripped off or taken advantage of or just generally harassed. We ended up going into town in the evening to see some of the TET festivities. However, our poor friend Rob got pick-pocketed! That kind of put a damper on the evening.

My actual birthday on the 27th was a quiet affair. Jen and Darren (her photographer/designer husband) made me an amazing breakfast and gave me a beautiful photo that Darren took that I love! We hung out by the pool and had naps, and then went into town for dinner and drinks. Most places are closed because of Chinese New Year, so it wasn't a very late night. All of their friends are out of town too, so I'm sure we'll have another celebration on the weekend when everyone is back.

I'm getting really excited that I'll be home in about a week! I think this next week might be one of the longest of my life. I can't wait to get back to reality. It's becoming a struggle to put a positive spin on all the little mishaps and annoying details of daily life in Asia. I can't wait to get back to Canada, even if it is cold!

Advertisement



29th January 2009

oh man! How'd I miss your birthday? Sorry, lady! Happy belated! It sounds like you had a really lovely day of it so I'm glad it went well for you:)
29th January 2009

You can make it! That sounds like an awesome birthday! IIIIT A BIRTHDAY.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb