Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
July 20th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We made it on time to Saigon last night, the flight was uneventful. Today we have a morning tour of the Cu Chi tunnels, where we will crawl around underground as well as have the opportunity to fire automatic weapons and buy war souvenirs. No thanks. After lunch we will visit the War Remnants Museum, touted as the best in Saigon. I think it's going to be a long, hot serious day.

So, you ask is it clean here? No it is not clean here, the streets are dirty and dusty, the motos spew exhaust, people smoke everywhere and you have to be careful what you eat and drink. It is what you experience in most countries of this economic level. The hotels are clean and have excellent air conditioning, as do most restaurants and the transportation we have been using. So we get soaked through with sweat at a site, get back on the bus or go to a restaurant and dry out, then venture out and begin the cycle all over again.

What about the food? I have been eating green papaya salad, stir fried shrimp, bok choy with woodear mushrooms, chicken with lemon grass and chile, pho (the typical Vietnamese dish of broth, noodles and pork or - in my case - chicken.) Each dish has a unique taste, whether it is garlic, lemon grass, ginger etc. I am really enjoying the food, which is surprising and wonderful. The also have a lot of little dumplings and spring rolls, many of which are particular to a geographic area. It seems that everyone has had some stomach upset except me so say a little prayer for me. I have been using the grapefruit seed extract twice a day and feel great. We walk a lot and I do the occasional set of push ups in my hotel room, to the amusement of my roommates. There is a lot of western food available, but I much prefer the Vietnamese food. Many of my group will eat the western food and also hang out at night drinking and forgo the morning sights. Again, no thanks. I think that this is my last GAP adventure, the group is too young. I like the leaders and the other travelers a lot but there has been some drama and I've never had that in a group before. It is also surprising to me how everyone seems to follow around and never seek out their own experiences. Sam and I decided to rotate and share rooms with the other single women travelers and it has been working well.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb