nothing much has happen in hcmc


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
August 8th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all

Well on Sunday I went to the Zoo. The Zoo in hcmc is the most horrible place that you would ever see. The animals are half dead or waiting to die. There are all these cages that are empty with signs saying what animal that had lived there the elephants stand near the fences with bobbing heads, up and down up and down. This is how the elephants get fed, people by buy sugar cane. Then lean over the fence with it and the elephants then reach over with there trunks to get the cane. The reaching is cute but the bobbing of the heads it so sad. The gardens are very well kept a so beautiful you can tell where the money is spent.

On Monday I replaced my passport back to the consulate I will now pick it up in Hanoi. The dates on my police report were wrong. I then was taken later in the even out for a drink with Mick the Australian that spends time down stairs. We were drinking in a Vietnamese drinking hole. It wasn’t a bad evening considering that I only spent about $4 to get pissed.

I found out the answer to the mystery that I was trying to uncover for day. Why do the trees have numbers on then? A worker will be told that they have to help or cut down tree say 68 on a certain street. Every tree in this city seems to have a number.

As I was stuck in hcmc until they repair my computer (which they haven’t done try again in Hanoi) I decide to do a Mekong delta tour for the day on Tuesday. We bused down to the Mekong. The river is so wide, may be even wider than Sydney harbour. We then got taken on 3 different boats to the candy making place. There is this poor
Snake has probable been draped around the shoulders of every person that has taken a tour in the last couple of years. We heard some local music I wouldn’t both if I was you.

Sorry all not to interesting I am a little sick and tied of hcmc. After being here over a week I am dying to get out of here. Today I spent the day trying to get the claim for my insurance off to Australia. The post office had to have an address in hcmc. Even through I will not be here in a couple of days. The honest people must all work in the post office and not the police station. It took me 2 hours to find a photocopy place. When you say photocopy they think that you want a coffee or something.

I was luck because thanks to this lovely girl that works where the expats drink I was able to get my police report translated from Vietnamese into English it took a little be of work but it was all done in the end.

Well got to go I have to now book my ticket out of hcmc im off to delat tomorrow


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb