Ho Ho Ho Chi Minh City


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 20th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Old schoolOld schoolOld school

Old world collides with the new world in a typical scene from the streets of HCMC
Well, I've found a place that can burn my photos to CD and I've updated the entry from the other day, so please check back

Just a quick note today... Ive got to get back to the guesthouse so I can pack up since I leave for the Mekong Delta at the crack of dawn tomorrow.

I did in fact end up going to the Ho Chi Minh Institute for the blind to get that massage this morning. Ended up getting a guy who was not much to look at, but more importantly had magic fingers. I felt compelled to turn around several times to check to see if he'd snuck in a buddy to help him or if he'd sprouted extra arms or something. Feeling very relaxed after that, I ventured out on my first cyclo ride, which was not as hair-raising as I had anticipated, and actually turned out to be pretty relaxing. Despite having to breath bus fumes along the way, it was nice to kick back and wind slowly down the streets as the traffic flew by. When it comes to cyclos I think I've been overpaying, at least according
Man with the magic fingersMan with the magic fingersMan with the magic fingers

Blind masseuse at the Ho Chi Minh Institute for the Blind
to my guidebook, but it's hard to go wrong when the exorbitant tourist price for an eight or nine kilometer ride amounts to about $3 US. I spent the rest of the afternoon checking out a few temples and strolling through the park. My trip down to the delta tomorrow should be a nice change of pace and I'll be sure to let you know how it goes as soon as I get back.

Mike



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Unknown PagodaThe Unknown Pagoda
The Unknown Pagoda

Unknown only because I can't remember what it's called [never mind how to spell it out], and I don't have my guide book on me at the moment
Election DayElection Day
Election Day

Today was a national election day... but nobody bothered to vote since all candidates are from the same party
Jade Emporor PagodaJade Emporor Pagoda
Jade Emporor Pagoda

An incense laden room in a Chinese type pagoda in the heart of HCMC
Old school IIOld school II
Old school II

Old world collides with the new world in yet another typical scene from the streets of HCMC


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb