Saigon again


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 27th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Darn Saigon is hot today - must be in the upper 30's. Not really into being back so soon but have to burn a day to catch our flight tommorow. Took Cyclo to Jade Pagoda. So many incense that our eyes burned. Then stopped at a park where the boys had some carnival rides and we snacked on some chinese pastries. Folowed by a visit to the Muslim mosque where we had a rather expensive and mediocre Indian food lunch. Nan bread was so stringy that I didn't even finish it.

While the boys slept I went to a boutique and bra shopped 😊 A very nice comfy one for 269 000 d. Then had supper at a Bo 7 restaurant and had Vietnamese wrap where we cooked our own meat in a hot pot and wrapped it with herbs, cucs and rice noodles into a rice wrap.

Did our packing for the flight to Phu Quoc Island tommorow. Need to get up at 4:30 Am to be ready for 5:15 Pm pick-up to go to the airport. argh... Staff at Cucs gave a bag with 3 pastries in it for the boys for breakfast since we are leaving so early. How nice of them. They are really a warm and attentive staff. Madam Cuc gave us some names of hotels we should check out on our way up the coast.

Tidbits:
- many young pretty girls with long black straight hair, and high heels driving around on motorbikes.
- taxi was side swiped by a bike today. Bike drove off unscathed but the taxi had a flat tire so we had to transfer cabs to get home.
- James seen a motorbike accident today - one of many I am sure
(I said the traffic worked - not that it was flawless LOL)
-Kyle seemed to have got a dozen or so mosquito bites while in the big Malaria zone - now the symptom watch is on. He must have slept up against the mosquito net

Til later,
Cheers



Advertisement



5th February 2007

great read
Well, for some reason I wasn't getting the emails so I have no resigned up. What a great read! It is so awsome reading about all the places we have been as well! I am even more inspired now to take our children travelling as soon as they are old enough to carry their own back pack. Keep them coming!
6th February 2007

Not sure how to use this
Hi Shel, I think this is cool but not sure how to use it, I would like to see your other stuff too, perhaps you can cut and paste it in an email? I am not sure how to get it. I started a new job in Administration. Loving it, we're well and busy, Hugs, Tina xo
6th February 2007

to Kyle
HAPPY BIRTHDAY KYLE!!
6th February 2007

I've just been checking the original blog for new entries every few days (didn't know we were supposed to get email notification!) but, wow, so many since I last checked! What an adventure you guys are having! It is great to 'escape' from this dull and dismal weather to share your journal.
7th February 2007

Kyle's Birthday?
Happy Birthday to You Too!!!!!!
7th February 2007

Finally
I was starting to get worried about you. I finally asked Carrie on the weekend if anyone had heard from you! So glad you are doing well; your adventures sound amazing!
7th February 2007

Good reading
I have not been getting posted about your entries, but thanks to your email I have now had a chance to read them all. I must say that you have a great writing style which (though it is a little... loose) is enjoyably creative. I didn't know you had such flair. Thanks for sharing. I also appreciate you points about the differences between tourists and travellers, and am happy to hear that you are an appreciative traveller. Lastly, tell Kyle I am very pleased that he has the soul of an adventurer. I have now eaten and done many interesting things here in Korea that many (possibly most) N. Americans would not even consider, and all I can say is don't knock it until you try it--and once you try it you probably won't knock it. Keep sending 'em and I will continue to enjoy reading 'em. By the way, please let me know if you got your package yet and, if you did, what you thought of it--honestly. I am starting to think it was lost. Thanks, sincerely: Shawn.
7th February 2007

Hi Shelly, James and boys, Sounds like you are having a fabulous time! I'm living vicariously through you as I sit here in my Language Acquistion course. Oh to be travelling rather than taking notes... I think its so great that Kyle is so willing to try the traditional foods. What a fantastic cultural experience for all of you! Take care.
7th February 2007

love it
hi shelly, i was worried about you untill i get your e-mail. i read all your journals. it feels like i am traveling with you. keep up the good work. waiting for some pictures too.big hugs.
7th February 2007

Hey ..I found you !!!
So glad to finally hear from you and know you are all okay and enjoying and learning lots of neat stuff.I have printed out all your entries , so we'll start reading now ![ as yet we have not tried to raise the photos..but will..I'm sure they are facinating.] Hope Klyle finds some fried bugs to try before you leave and Reegan and Ty don't let "celebrity status' go to their heads. Love to you all. Be Safe !!xoxo
8th February 2007

WOW !
What a read..almost like being there !![ I said ALMOST !] You are so descriptive and make for a very enjoyable read ! [maybe you missed your calling ?] I'm sure all others who are reading your blogs appreciate your entries too , as they likely will never have the opportunity to go there either. Sure hope that Kyle suffers no ill effects from the mosquito bites !! Well I'm off to Gr Forks to pick up your Mom and then to Castleg to see Dad. Again..Be Safe ! xoxo

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb