Saigon - here i come


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
July 20th 2016
Published: July 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Departure from Singapore without a hitch. Nearly 2 hours flying to Saigon. Even tho it's officially Ho Chi Minh City since 1975 - most people in the "south", young and old, still call it Saigon - the name that the French gave to it. Very quick stop at the Visa on Arrival counter - and then through Passport Control. Now the big test - will I get through Vietnamese Customs X-ray with the health supplements for friends, the daily vitamins/tablets that I take, the diabetes insulin as well as the test strip and needles. The 3 persons manning the X-ray machine were too busy talking with each other, looking at their mobile fones (possible playing pokemon Go) to worry what I had in the bags. Out through the waiting hoards - then decision time. Will I take a taxi at around AU$7 to go to the hotel - or try the public bus for 30 cents + another 30 cents for the suitcase. The back pack, shoulder back and carry bag all went free. So total 60 cents for the 7kms journey to Ben Thanh Market, then 2oom walk to the Hotel. Now it's around 12:30 and already 33C. Check-in OK to my "deluxe" room at Asian Ruby Central Hotel. The promoters of this hotel must be using using a dictionary with a different meaning of "deluxe". Still - only for 1 night -and it's opposite my favourite little hole-in-the-wall-bar-cum-restaurant where Mr Twitchy works.

Clean up a little - then head down the the backpacker area where my travel colleague Ms LE has her office and hostel. A little chit chat before I head back to Mr Twitchy's for a nice old beer - the some food. I like Saigon - but only for a couple of days at a time. It's too big for me. Too noisy, too hectic. Good for a short time. But then a lot of expats like it and live there with their wives or girlfriends or other.

Even tho I had a good sleep on the flight the night before - I was a little tired - so hit the sack early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb