Day 17 - Moving to Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
August 5th 2015
Published: August 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 17 - Moving in to Saigon

We were up and about this morning, well prepared, and ready to go. We thought we were leaving at 10am, but Tuan had sent a late night email asking if we could go at 8.30 - 9. I opened the email at 7.40. Since my accident I have been sleeping more as I seem to be more tired than usual!

It wasn't really a problem, we just moved on a bit quicker!

We completed packing our bags, had a quick shower, then took the bags down to reception. Well.... Helen took the bags down!

We went out for breakfast, which was an omelette sandwich with artichoke tea. We both commented on how much we love the Vietnamese bread, and that we have both become particularly fond of artichoke tea!

Our timing was perfect, we got back to our hotel at the same time that the driver arrived. The case and backpack loaded, the Tuan also arrived. It was great that we could say thank you to him for how well we have been looked after, it was also really good to have a personal goodbye with Tuan.

The hotel staff have been fantastic through my recovery. They helped with our washing, supplied me with s hard boiled egg and a flask of hot water for my bruising! Helen had to put the egg in the hot water, then I had to roll and massage it around my eye. It sounds crazy, but really did give me relief. The older lady gave Helen lots of comfort, hugs and kisses when I was at my worst, and she continued to give them as I recovered. They have unconditional support to us both.

Then into the car, and off. It's a really good quality car, which helps on these roads, but the first part of the journey was really painful for me. I haven't given in to years through this, but at this point, I was in tears.... Quietly, I didn't want to worry Helen! She has been through so much already! I asked if we could stop for coffee. I felt so ill at this point. During coffee I did yoga stretches on my neck and shoulders, it hurts to do it, but feels better afterwards. I really don't know what I would have done without yoga exercises, and breathing. They have helped my recovery so much! After coffee the driver altered my seat position. I was much more comfortable after that!

The driver played easy 70's music all the way.i happily sang along! Quietly! Helen watched a film and nodded off. We stopped for lunch at a simple roadside cafe. We selected set menu which was chicken, veg, rice, salad and soup. It wasn't the best meal, but ok, and did what it needed to do!

We both needed the toilet. We were led down through the cafe area into a small street. I think we went into the family house. It was an Asian footplate toilet, but as I only have one hand available to use, Helen had to help me! She was very good.... Considering! As Helen said, our friendship is now at a whole new level!

Back into the car, and onto the last part of the journey. The roads are of a very good quality now, much easier on me!

As we got neater to the city centre, the driver wasn't sure if the location of the hotel. I helped by getting my map on my phone to give him directions!

The hotel is really good, but the room is small, but we only have to sleep in there, luckily, Helen has got used to sharing a bed now! Ha ha!

We set off for our first orientation walk, the first stop being Haagen Dazs! Great iced cappuccino! We sat there quite a while in order to. Make a plan for the next few days. It seems we have chosen an excellent area to be staying in, district 1.

We set off in the direction of
Dong Khoi, a lively stretch of shops and bars, spans from Notre Dame Cathedral to the Saigon River. This characterful road has played a part in Ho Chi Minh's modern history, from the go-go bars that catered for young American GIs back in the 1950s. Now, it is all so extravagant. We walked the full length of the street. All the big names are up in lights; Cartier, Ralph Lauren, Estée Lauder, to name a few. There are so many! We walked with our heads looking upwards the whole time! We got to the end of the walkway, which brought us to the Saigon River. We found a seat, just sat there, taking it all in!

It is dark now, there is a light show in the sky; not man made! There is red fork lightening, and white flash lightening. We sat for a while trying to catch it on camera over the river, but just couldn't catch it!

We decided it was time to eat, so set off back up Dong Khoi, as there are so many choices of eating places. We chose to eat at Capital Central. A beautiful setting with outside eating in tree lined roads at each side. The trees are encased in lighting in the shape of a huge wine glass!

We had poutini, (sort of cheesy, gravy and chips) with a plate of assorted Vietnamese rolls and bread. Tonight's drink was orange with ginger, closely followed by iced tea.... Just for a change!

The rain came, but just gentle, normal rain. We sat for while longer, enjoying watching the world go by. We set off back to the hotel with our rain macs on. It was only a ten minute walk ....... And relax!



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb