Saigon, War Remnants Museum


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
June 11th 2011
Published: June 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

We have had beautiful weather for the past few days. Light breezes, and in the shade really comfortable. Eating on the street, drinking in the street pubs, and getting treats at the local bakery-it feels like home! We visited the War Remnants Museum. Again, deeply disturbing on so many levels. The shocking photos, the artillery, bombs, and planes, and the cleverly crafted propaganda made for a dreary but fascinating afternoon.

I came back to the room to have a quick nap and Steven headed to the pub. I tried to sleep but the cleaning lady made me get out (we are no longer treated like guests, we are treated like family) , so I went down to find Steven. I went into the first one and asked where my husband was and the guy yelled "he not here!". Off I went to the other one and Steven was sitting with a pretty young Australian girl. Steven said that when she sat down to talk to him the waitress came right over and said "Where your wife?". My girls at the pub were looking out for me! Vui, the waitress, pulled me aside and told me not to let husband go out by himself-hahahaha. Gotta love female camaraderie.

Last night we had dinner with Bien and his family at his mother's home. All I can say right now is WOW. It is one of the highlights of the trip. So nice of them to invite us into their home.

Booked our bus tickets to Dalat today-we leave at 1:00 pm and arrive (hopefully) seven hours later. Dalat is wine country, I will try it all and give my review! I may even go WINE TASTING.

Life is grand, we feel more grateful every day for what we have.

Suzie






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

MotherMother
Mother

Sculpture made from exploded ordinance and gun fragments. It is titled "Mother".
BulldozerBulldozer
Bulldozer

Used by the US to mow down villages.
IndoctrinationIndoctrination
Indoctrination

The young Vietnamese cadets on a field trip learning about the American War. We snuck this picture.
PropagandaPropaganda
Propaganda

Propaganda against the US by Cuba and Vietnam.


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb