Good Morning Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, we arrived in Ho Chi Minh City two nights ago (Thursday, September 9th). We were supposed to get in around 10:00pm, but thanks to very delayed flights we arrived at our hotel around 1am. So after a very long day of travel we crashed into our beds (thank g-d the hotel had A/C in the rooms!).

To my fathers disappointment I'm sure, we slept the next day (Friday) until 12:00pm. I would have normally made an effort to rise and shine early, but after the previous travel day, and the fact that I hadnt been able to keep food down for 24 hrs, I decided to cut us a break. Plus I thought that I could maybe sleep off the sick feeling...oooh was I wrong. Once we finally emerged from our room and hit the 90+ degree temp and 90+ humidity it all came back to me in waves. We made it about 1 block before entering a cafe. Adam had his first bowl of Pho and I tried my hardest to not have my fiorst display of public sickness. Sadly between the heat and the smells I was done for and we quickly returned to the hotel. After much resistance Adam agreed to head out on his own while I again tried to sleep off what ever had decided to attack my insides. Its actually kind of funny, everyone warned us before we left that we would get sick in Vietnam and I end up getting sick in our apartment before we even leave the US.

Anyway, Adam went out and explored a bit...had his first (and second) Vietnamese coffee, which he loved, wandered the streets and even got proposition by a pimp. Very exciting! I slept...

Around 7pm I was able to eat some bread (HUGE VICTORY!) and Adam headed out to enjoy some yummy Italian food (and some more coffee :o)). He also discovered his first 50 cent beer, so you all may be getting an email shortly that we will be moving here permanently. We spent the rest of the evening watching movies in the room (finally got to see Slumdog Millionaire) and then fell asleep around 11pm.

So now it is 7:00am on Saturday and I am wide awake (probably because I have hit my weekly sleep quota). So far I am feeling a little better, so fingers crossed for the rest of the day. Our plan is to do a little sight seeing in the city and stop by a travel agent to make our plans to travel to Hanoi tomorrow. Hopefully, my vacation can start today and I wont be forced to waste another day in the hotel!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb