Saigon


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » District 1
December 8th 2013
Published: April 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

There isn't much that I can say about Saigon that hasn't been said before. I stayed at a hostel for a couple of nights until I linked up with some relatives. They invited me to crash at their place and were hospitable as always. I remember the slumber party that we had years ago, where we slept on the roof top of the building they were living in at the time. Ba Ce was sweet. she treated me like I was one of her kids. It was a great opportunity for her to practice her English. She knew it, but was just shy. One day I went out to the streets and found a random white dude to help her practice her English. Who would have thought that he is an English teacher?!? After a couple of days I felt it was time to leave. I didn't want to be a bother. The morning of my bus, uncle Bao drove me to the bus station. But I missed my bus..To this day, I believed that it was meant to be for me to stay for a couple of more days. I decided to stay until after Christmas. For Christmas we all went for a cruise around the city on motorbikes. I think they enjoyed the much needed break from their busy life. I have nothing but love and gratitude for them. I'll just let these pictures sum up my time in Saigon.

Crossing The Street in Saigon

Crossing the streets in Saigon was foreign to me. Do I wait for motorcyclist to stop? or do I run across and pray that no one runs me over? According to locals, the correct way to cross the street in Saigon is to just throw yourself into traffic and walk at a nonchalant and constant pace. If you hesitate you will fuck up the flow of traffic. Accidents can happen if you are not careful. As you approach the intersection look both ways and at how fast and dense traffic is. Then proceed only when it thins out a little. It usually thins out for a couple of seconds here or there so you gotta act fast. Take a deep breath and submerge yourself into the traffic. Be alert and aware of all that is around you, but don't panic as motorcycles will whizz by you. Continue walking at a constant pace,
Busing itBusing itBusing it

My bus from Phnom Penh to Saigon
while looking at on coming traffic. Saigon traffic is similar to a very well choreographed ballet or a well synchronized water show thingy with swimmers. Drivers are skilled enough to adjust their speed and sync with pedestrians as they cross. Minor turns are also applied by drivers to maneuver around pedestrians. It is an exhilarating, scary and fun experience that everyone should try.



If




Its 5:38 am in the morning and I'm feeling a ball of emotions in my stomach...20 years is a long time...A lot has happened. A lot of people came and went. The last time we were here, we were a whole family. Now I'm here all alone...I reminisced of all the times my mom, brother and I traveled from Pleiku to Nha Trang in the early 90s. So much has changed in 20 years...
Journal Entry: 12.07.2013


For The Foodies:







My first bowl of pho in Saigon in a long time.



I believe this was Banh Canh, a breakfast noodle soup.


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb