Ho Chi Minh City, Cu Chi Tunnels


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City » Cu Chi
August 12th 2013
Published: September 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at HCMC at 7am and the girls had already booked me a ticket for the Cu Chi tunnels. Being picked up by the bus at 8am, I tried to find my way to the guesthouse. Having no idea where I was going, I flagged a motorbike down who firstly took me to the wrong hotel. After him asking a couple of people, we finally found it. Time to spare, I changed my t-shirt (Hannah's as I was in definite need of a clothes wash), had a baby wipe wash and was fit to go.

Cu Chi's were used during the Vietnam War for hiding and also routes for getting supplies and communicating.

We got talked through the different traps that were laid down for the enemy, we went through one of the tunnels (baring in mind they were made for the Vietnamese people so very small) and how they would make new weapons out of leftover blown up weapons that had already been used. We watched a short film and it emphasised quite a lot how they would celebrate killing so many Americans.

The tour was only half a day so we got taken back to HCMC where we walked around the centre.

In the evening, in search of a restaurant, we found the Spotted Cow - a westernised pub/bar (almost like a wetherspoons). The girls were wanting western food - Hannah, cottage pie and LOVED it, Poppy, pizza as she realised she had eaten pizza in every city she had visited so had to end her last night with a pizza. I went for good old traditional fish and chips (unfortunately no mushy peas). To accompany our food we chose a bucket to slurp on.

Hannah and I had already decided we were going to travel Cambodia together, but firstly I had to decide whether I was staying in Vietnam for a few more days then meeting her in Cambodia or leave with her the next day...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb