Day 10 - Leave Hoi An, move to Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
July 29th 2015
Published: July 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 10 - Last day Hoi An, move to Nha Trang

The day started at about 7.30, with a natural wake up. We have to pack our bags, and be organised as we are checking out after breakfast.

We were done and dusted by about nine..ish. My breakfast seems to have grown in size everyday here! Today I added a bowl of cornflakes to have before the omelette, mixed salad, copious amounts of bread, bread and jam, orange juice, tea, then topped off with a leftover Choco Pie and more tea! I think it's a blessing that we are leaving later today! Lol


We have another easy day today, no shopping needed now, all done.... Or so we thought! We have a couple of bits to pick up, we both need a new lead, me for my iPad, Helen for her phone. That's all we have on our list!


As we came up to the market and quayside, we saw a bride and groom taking there wedding photos. She looked beautiful.


The first stop is always for a cup of green tea, a bit of wifi, and a chat. The next thing that we had on our list of 'to do' was a boat ride around the small islands in the river, Sông Thu Bồn, we haggled our fare for an hour on the river boat. We weren't disappointed with the trip; again, it is such a beautiful country, with so many different facets to see, this was just one more way of seeing it. As we we sailing up river we saw a lone fisherman, or maybe not! I definitely think he had planted himself there as an interactive photo opportunity! Credit to the man; the Vietnamese people are so resourceful in ways to earn money. I did say to Helen, I bet it's the boat persons dad... Lol
We stopped near him and he jumped aboard. He loaded my right arm with the fishing net by placing a loop around my wrist, the string and some netting coiled in my hand, then the weight of the net slung over my right shoulder, with my left hand out he gathered set amounts of the net and placed a portion onto each finger. Then it was 1, 2, 3 and sling it all out of the boat. The first time, i was concentrating on the sling that I totally forgot to let go of the net! Next time, I did much better. Then it was Helen's turn. It was fun to have a go at something so unusual.... And of course, it came at a price, but credit to the guy, what a great job he has!


We passed great scenery, amazing vegetation that we had no idea what it was, traditional fishermen .... That were really fishing, traditional houses, big posh hotels.... So much to look at! We arrived back to the market place after the agreed hour. It was an hour well spent.


If you are used to reading the blog, you will already realise.... Time for tea again! We sat opposite the river looking at our photos and laughing about the fishing trials!

We set off into the market to get our bit of shopping, which we got a bit carried away with. I got a cushion cover to add toy collection of cushions from around the world! A Vietnamese motorcycle jacket for Molly to show and tell at school, a tiny Vietnamese silk dress for Thea, iPad leads, and cigarettes for me! 200 for £5.20! Helen bought the mandatory Vietnamese t-shirt.


We got trailed all over the market by a Vietnamese lady who was desperate to help me find the cotton jacket, I really don't believe that all the different stall holders were her sisters ... Lol. I know I paid way over the top for it, but bless her, she worked so hard for the sale! I just had to buy it!

After all that, yes.... You guessed it.... More tea, well Helen had tea, I opted for Vietnamese iced coffee. It is a really strong bitter coffee that is sweetened up with condensed milk and poured over ice. It tastes better than it sounds! We sat and uploaded all our photos though the cafes wifi before setting off back to the hotel. We planned to have dinner just across the road to the hotel, so it will be easy for us for leaving this afternoon.

We have been told to be ready for 5.30 pick up at the hotel, so I am guessing it will be at least 6.30!

We were ready and waiting at 5.30, and just as we thought the link bus arrived at 6.30, we left Hoi An at 7pm.





Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb