Teaching A Little Class


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
April 23rd 2006
Published: April 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

ThuanThuanThuan

Excited about color!
Art Class begins each day at 9am and ends anywhere between 11-12. This has been one of the easiest and most enjoyable parts of working in Hoi An. I have had a good handful of projects and the kids keep busy without any constant attention. As I get to know their little personalities, it is interesting which activity each one is drawn to. Hung likes to trace, Tri likes anything with detail, Dung likes using his ruler to construct buildings and boats with lots of windows and doors, Ly likes creating any pretty girly pictures, Den likes origami and cut paper, Phuc likes the crayon scratch art where you get to scribble furiously, then scratch away the black. I also bring my laptop to school so we can have art's favorite companion, music. The kids are all now experts at ITunes, and have several Latin love songs memorized (they chose it!)

In addition to the Art Class, I also volunteer in the evenings to help with an English Class for older students. Karen started this class for the kids in the neighborhood who are serious to learn more than the standard Vietnamese reading and writing. Since all of these kids
Cut It Out!Cut It Out!Cut It Out!

The kids are occupied for hours cutting images from old magazines for some imaginative collage art
are, too, from disadvantaged backgrounds it will help increase their chances in finding a good job, particularly one in the tourist industry.

Now Art Class I figured I teach, English Class, yes, some of that as well. But I would have never guessed the class I held on Monday evening. A 30-minute class on ETIQUETTE and MANNERS. Yes, it had to be done. And yes, it was my idea... "I" was going to explain what would be considered appropriate human behavior. (!)

-a childhood tangent-

I remember my first and only Etiquette Class. I was in 4th grade on a girl scout trip to a modeling agency for yet another badge on the sash. The very gorgeous and very tall owner of the agency proceeded to tell us how to sit, to walk, to eat, to talk. And things that were so very important, for example we should NEVER cross our legs because it was unlady like, only prostitutes cross their legs in order to give the boys a "peek" on what’s underneath the skirt (?) It all seemed so silly to me. For the end of our class we were each asked to walk the catwalk
Me & PhucMe & PhucMe & Phuc

It's a love-hate relationship, today Phuc likes me
in which I tripped. I remember the woman looking sternly down at me, "you wouldn’t make a very good model little girl, actually you’re not tall enough anyway, so don’t worry about it."

-end childhood tangent-

But I do believe I at least possess the knowlege on how to act appropriately and professionally. And the truth is, I have noticed quite a number of repulsive nasty bad habits, especially while sharing a meal with a local. I feared if someone was picking their nose during a job interview than it could very well be a deciding factor for their future. I ran it over with Karen, she couldn’t agree more.


Class notes from Monday, April 17th

DOs and DON'TS
----------------------

DO NOT pick your nose

DO NOT spit or hack up your lungs

DO NOT fidget which means: no picking at your face, popping pimples, plucking hairs or cleaning your nails

DO NOT squat on chairs, sit properly with good posture (you MAY sit with your legs crossed)

DO carry a tissue if you are have a sneezing or coughing issue

DO have a clean and tidy apperance
Little LyLittle LyLittle Ly

Ly is as beautiful as her painted butterfly

DO say please, thank you, and excuse me

DO cover your mouth if you cough (or belch)

DO wait for everyone has their food to begin eating

DO chew with your mouth closed

DO have confidence (don't be shy, have eye contact, and a good handshake)

I did use Mr. Co a little for translating, but it was much more fun to act it all out. Giving everyone in the class a test handshake which was my favorite part. Son and Dao turn their heads and giggle so they still need lots of practice but the very motivated Thu passed with flying colors.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Thuong & Paper Bead NecklaceThuong & Paper Bead Necklace
Thuong & Paper Bead Necklace

Hey, Thuong's necklace is way better than mine!
Tri & ButterflyTri & Butterfly
Tri & Butterfly

Tri takes every art project very seriously
Me & LyMe & Ly
Me & Ly

I know you're not SUPPOSED to pick favorites, but I can't help but have a fondness for a select few...Ly is a gem and captures my heart everyday with her simple smile and hugs. She loves to give me her projects when she finishes them, and my favorite is her magazine paper collage of properly placed wedding brides, purses, flowers and cell phones. (!)
DungDung
Dung

Dung (pronounced YOOM)is another secret favorite. He makes me laugh when he says "yep, yep, yep" to everything I say with a smile even though he doesn't understand a word of it. He attempts to teach me Vietnamese and moves my lips with his little fingers so I get the proper mouth structure...I fail miserably everytime and he just shakes his head as I continue to butcher the language. He's a great detailed drawer, and I think would make a good architect.
Afternoon ClassAfternoon Class
Afternoon Class

The kids: Dung, Phuc, Den, Nga, Lien, Thuong, Ly, Hung, Hue, Tri, Rom, Thuan,Cuong and Hoang (plus 3 teachers, me & Karen)
English ClassEnglish Class
English Class

Nine students and Mr. Co for the evening English Class, including Dao, Thanh and a few others in the jobstart program. Also Tam's younger brother and sister, Thu and Vinh (seated at right)


24th April 2006

sniff, sniff
Dear Sherry,Thanks for another great TravelBlog. I have to admit I had a little cry when I saw all of our kids in your photos, I miss them all soooooooooo much! I'm sure the kids will remember this time you have spent with them forever. It's about sooooo much more than "art class". Thankyou again for spreading your "magic" over all of the Lifestart kids, teenagers and families that you have worked with during your time in Hoi An. Please come back! Lots of love and a big Hug from Karen x
11th May 2006

art kids
Hi Sherry, eb just sent me your blog address and I'm loving it. I decided this year I am not teaching, maybe never again except for workshops. The photos did make me miss it a little, justa little. The grandkids keep me busy. You look great and look like you are having a wonderful time. These kids are lucky to have you there. happy Spring, D
4th August 2006

Cultural differences
Hi - it's fantastic you're doing so much there. But I just wonder if you're aware that some of your 'do's and don'ts' seem to ignore cultural differences. Eg blowing your nose onto a tissue or hanky is considered disgusting in Vietnam and many asian countries. Slurping noodles and spitting bones onto the floor are considered acceptable in noodle stalls. And locals see no problem with chewing with their mouth open - they think it's odd to try to chew with your mouth closed. While it's important to be polite, I don't think imposing Western manners onto locals is useful.

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb