Tailor Trauma


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
February 9th 2006
Published: February 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Best way to get aroundBest way to get aroundBest way to get around

Taking a ride on the mopeds was so much fun! Makes me want to buy one...
We're in Hoi An and I'd have to say that this must be the clothing tailor capital of the world. You can have anything made to fit you perfectly...shoes, suits, dresses, shirts...anything! So it's an easy place to spend a traumatizing amount of money. And I did.
I had a suit made for when my buddies decide to get married. Also, I got a couple of light cotton shirts made so I can throw some of my other shirts away that take too long to dry. The suit I will have to mail home. It's hard not to start buying gifts allready for friends and family because there are some things you can't get in other countries. So I imagine I will have a whole other bag just of gifts I will have to lug around.
Hoi An is a really cool place all aroud. The people here are so friendly! When we arrived in Hoi An our hotel from Hue was supposed to have booked us in to their sister hotel here...but they forgot. So we arrived to a full hotel and the girls were getting a bit testy. But the owner put us up for free in a.....well...a closet, basically, but the next day we got a really nice room.
I got a visa to visit Lao for 30 days. The girls can only stay 15 days so I'll be on my own after that. I'll be screwed. Emily is amazing with directions, where as I would end up on the other side of town looking for our hotel.
Oh, and I cut my mowhawk, so now I'm sporting a brush cut. People were always pointing and laughing at me before. They said I looked like David Beckham, the soccer player. I was unaware that he had a mowhawk. I thought maybe it wasn't the best idea to stand out in a foreign country so I got a good haircut for travelling....very low maintenance.
So I think the trip to Laos is going to be a doozie, but I'm excited to visit there. I haven't met anyone that didn't like it. It is very underdeveloped and just recently open to tourism soit should be a cool experience!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1926s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb