Hoi An - You buy something?


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
December 4th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I don't really have a lot to say about Hoi An, it's basically about six or seven streets of tailors, souvenir shops, bars and cafes. The Tailors are really cheap and I think everyone in the group had at least one thing made, some of the girls had about £500 worth of clothes and shoes made up. I only got a couple of pairs of lightweight trousers with legs that zip off.

Since I wasn't running around trying to get to multiple fittings I used the time to take a rest from sightseeing (I'm not complaining by any means, but sometimes it feels like a job). I spent a good part of the day reading, sleeping and playing on the internet.

A few of us in the group had a bit of a messy night, after drinking all the alcohol we could find in the hotel we decided to find a bar. This involved snaking past the security guard who was sleeping in reception and then jumping the gate. Somehow we managed it (despite breaking the gate) but once out on the street it quickly dawned on us that there was a distinct lack of bars (or anything) open. We wondered the streets for a short while passing only the occasional rat, before coming across two street vendors alone on the pavement. This made for some good haggling as we got them fighting each other on price for cheap beer. We ended up breaking back into the hotel and sitting by the pool until the wee hours drinking our well earned beer.

I liked Hoi An, once you get used to the calls of "you by something form me" or "you look in my shop" and lean to block them out it's got a really nice chilled out feel to the place.

Next stop Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon)


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

More DragonMore Dragon
More Dragon

people keep laughing at me


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb