A day of Relaxation


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Quảng Nam » Hoi An
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 13 and 14th
We are at a wonderful resort right on the South China Sea. We are here until Saturday am. Yesterday we swam, napped and read. This is exactly what we needed after the full days we have had.
Last night we went into town. We thought we could easily grab a taxi (we are about 3 miles from town) and go in for dinner. However, nothing though here are what you expect. There were no regular taxis. Just motorbike taxis. So we each got on one and flew and weaved through traffic into town. I believe there are no traffic laws here. Or if there are, no seems to follow them.
We went to dinner at a local restaurant and I ordered crab. They came back to me about 10 minutes later and told me there was no more crab at the market, please choose something else. Talk about fresh!
The ride back was exhilarating. It was dark by this time and all I could think was, “Wow, I am an American, in Vietnam riding on the back of a motorbike, in the dark.” It is then it dawned on me the enormity of this trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



15th June 2007

Blog
This blog thing is so cool. I keep getting updated on your family adventure! Now that you have ate crickets, you can go on survivor.
15th June 2007

survivor
on second thought, maybe Jason should go on survivor! Or Melissa (with the tigers...)
15th June 2007

Duck Egg
I think you should eat a duck egg while in vietnam, they are a favorite of my family. (Kathy does not want to be included as one of the fore-mentioned family members- she thinks it is disgusting!)

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb