Mui Ne and Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
May 19th 2010
Published: May 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I got to Mui Ne Monday night feeling much better but decided to take it easy. I stayed at the Wind Champ hotel. It is Korean Owned but I wasn't really impressed by it. It was a typical spot, fair on the cleanliness, AC, bed, mosquito net and luke warm water for the shower. I didn't have a shower curtain and no way to put the shower head up so I could take a standing shower with my hands free. At least it had a bar of soap and "shampoo."

Went to the bar with the crazy music and met a couple of people from Belgiam. One of the guys works a the sailing club in Mui Ne as a manager of some sort and also helps teach english and etiquite. He gave me some info about Kite surfing. No drinking for me since I was still recovering.

Tuesday morning was interesting. I met my next door neighbor, Angelo, he is brazilian and he teaches paragliding. He moved there about 2 months ago to start his business and learn to kite surf. Apparantly he lives off of a home he rents out back in Brazil and therefore doesn't work too frequently. His business is mostly word of mouth and he wants to be a kite surf instructor. Very nice guy.

I went with him to where he kite surfs and met Azee, she is european but don't remember from where. Her kite school (which I cannot remember the name of) offers a different kind of deal than most of the other kite schools. Most offer a "free trail" which is sailing the kite on the beach. "Introducotry lessons - $100" which is just barely getting in the water. "Beginner lessons - $250" which is about 5 hours of lessons. At Azee's she offers a 3 day unlimited package -$300 with lessons and use of kites. and a 5 day -$ 450 with lessons and use of kite. seems like a better deal to me. so I did the free beach lesson with her but there wasn't really enough wind to surf in the water. So I went back to the hotel and rested a few and rented a motobike. I only decided to do this because there is very little traffic in Mui Ne and pretty much just one main road. Took it to the fishing village and back and got some tour info and ate lunch. I then went back to Azee's kite surfing school but there was too many jelly fish to get into the water so tried flying the kite on the beach again. Oh well wasn't meant to be that day. Went to pool and then a quick ride in the other direction on the motobike.

Came back and had a couple drinks and went to dinner with Angelo and his friends at Lam Trongs. I ate the grilled fish... it was awesome for about $3.25, I got a pretty big portion of a white fish... not sure what kind, but it was great. I met Marc, the French kite surfing instructor from the Kite school, Heidi, Mariana and her SO all from Holland and Allan who is also from Holland but live in Mui Ne teaching I believe. It was an entertaining evening. Marc likes to balance things on his face like a plastic chair or 3 and a spoon. The wait staff all seem to really enjoy it and ask him to do this on a regular basis. Apparently Lam Trong is his cafeteria.

After dinner went back to Wind Champ and had drinks at Wax bar (the bar next to Wind Champ). I was pretty tired and went to bed about 12am.

Wed, got up and no wind... none whatsoever. So I decided I should go to Nha Trang for scuba. Called up the dive shop and asked if they could look up my certification for me and it was confirmed they could... yay! So I got ready, said bye to Angelo my neighbor and headed to Nha Trang.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb