Nhat Much in Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
March 11th 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 11
The night train was not as enjoyable as I was hoping it would be. Although it did start off promising as the cabins were quite nice and the a/c was very cold but as we settled in, the a/c continued to blast and it was a freezing 15 degrees celcius on my bed. When we went to sleep, the a/c was turned off and it got warm quickly causing lots of condensation on the wall beside me. So that combined with sweat from the heat made for a wet sleep, or rather lack thereof. We were awoken quickly at 5:20am as we had arrived and had to disembark immediately. This made for a frantic scramble off the train.
Despite the early arrival, we were able to check into our hotel (Vien Dong) right away, and I took advantage of a shower. Half the group opted to sleep but I joined the other half heading to see the Cham Towers that overlook much of Nha Trang. The scenery here was quite different from what we'd seen thus far, lots of mountains, a river and ocean! Beautiful.
Time for some more pho for breakfast. Not sure how much more beef I can handle for the first meal of the day. Four of us then decided to still pass on the sleep and head to the hot springs for some spa indulgence. We had a mud bath, hydrotherapy, and a soak in hot mineral water. There was also a swimming pool heated to 38 degrees celcius and it was like swimming in heaven. I spent a tad too long in the water though as my fingers were majorily pruned and uncomfortable. Before leaving the springs, we also had a massage. This was not as relaxing as I had hoped. The woman would not stop talking and asking me about a girlfriend and commented on my handsomeness (despite the fact I was lying face down and she couldn't see me). She also walked on my back and then cracked various bones in my body without asking. I will wait until I return before I go for another massage.
After the spa, I spent time lying by the pool before dinner. Dinner was average. There wasn't alot of exciting options. Some of us decided, surprsingly, to go out for a few drinks after dinner at a tourist bar called "Why Not?" It was a fine bar but they did try twice to overcharge us for an extra beer.

Day 12
I opted for a bit of a sleep-in this morning and slowly made my way to the beach for an afternoon of sun and fun. The waves here were quite nice and I did some bodysurfing. I also managed to beach myself very elegantly. Literally the wave washed me ashore on my back with my feet in the air and my bathing suit twisted half way around and almost falling off.
This town seems much more of a beach resort town and seemed to lack on the historic and cultural sights. We leave for Hoi An on another night train!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb