Nha Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
January 29th 2008
Published: January 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Nha Trang from Da Lat was a hair-raising experience, winding down the steep mountain pass with scant regard for oncoming traffic around the blind hair-pin turns. Once we made it to the coast it was a stunning drive with sweeping views of the ocean and the mountain ranges coming down to meet it.

At Nha Trang, I found the cheapest and most luxurious accommodation thus far. The room was $7 U.S. and had ocean views, bathroom, hot water, television (to watch the Australian Open Tennis Final), fridge and a comfy bed. It was hard to believe that this accommodation was cheaper than some of the dank rooms I had stayed in that lacked flushing water! All of the staff were very helpful and friendly too. For those venturing to Nha Trang, the name of the place is 'Kim Tuoc' and the street it is in is Hung Vuong. It's a pink building with the word 'Canary' emblazoned above the entrance.

On my first night I had a delicious meal (although mine got mixed up with the table next to me, with my clay hot pot of veal arriving about 40 minutes after the other meal had arrived - it was worth the wait though), before discovering a cultural heritage building across the road from where I had dinner. Inside this building were the most amazing embroidery artworks of typical Vietnamese scenes and landscapes. Their ability to convey dappled sunlight falling upon wildflowers in a dense forest with just with the use of thread was something to behold. All of the works take at least 5 months to complete and it was one of the few times in my life when I wished I was rich, as the pieces were rather expensive (but deservedly so).

The following day I had breakfast on the footpath from a street vendor, sitting amongst the locals. This is something I had been wanting to do since the trip began in Ho Chi Minh City, as one of the aspects of Vietnamese life that I really admire is their sense of community out on the streets. Everyone seems to sit around and talk, play boardgames and just enjoy each other's company. The meal was simply eggs in a baguette, but it was delicious.

After brekky, I began the long and hot journey to a pagoda that I had read about and had free admission...or so I thought. Some friendly girls acted as guides through the temple, explaining how they were orphans who the monks schooled to give them a better chance at life. Their English was fluent,so the monks were obviously very good teachers. At the feet of an enormous reclining buddha, they then asked me to buy some postcards from them to help fund the school, in lieu of the free admission. I was more than happy to do this, although the price shocked me somewhat.

On my way back I stopped by the gallery of one of Vietnam's most renowned photographers, Long Thanh. His black & white photos of Vietnamese people were simply amazing and so full of texture.

I spent the afternoon lazily reclining around a pool which was located at a beachside brewery (Louisiane Brewery) - a truly wonderful idea! The food was delicious and the beer was superb, not to mention the view!

The only negative about Nha Trang is that one gets the feeling that in another 10 years it may very well be like the Gold Coast in Queensland along the beachfront. Two blocks back and it's a typical Vietnamese city, but the beachfront feels like another world due to the extravagant skyscrapers that stain the skyline.

After an overnight bus trip I will arrive in Hoi An, a world heritage city. Can't wait!!

Advertisement



29th January 2008

Burning Things
Spark up embers! Sounds like the trip is burning a giant backburn through the countryside. Whatever you do, don't forget to take your own towel! Cotton towels are best for putting up spotfires as well! Enjoy yourselves immensely and spell 'extravagant' right next time! HA HA HA! Burning Things.
2nd February 2008

place to stay in NA TRANG
great read . i have a son traveling a few days behind , can you help with name of great accommodation in Na trang sounds like a back packers dream place continue having fun thanks
2nd February 2008

Name of Accommodation in Nha Trang
Hi There, The name of the place was 'Kim Tuoc' and the street it is in is Hung Vuong - only one block from the beach. It's a pink building with the word 'Canary' across it's entrance. Hope this helps. Bronson

Tot: 0.487s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.2571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb