OpenTouring Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
November 18th 2006
Published: November 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Looking at my stats I see the entry with the most 'visits' is the report on my sitting in my hotel room in Ao Nang, Thailand when I was poorly on my birthday, feeling sorry for myself, maybe I should of just stayed at home? Does rather make me feel that people want to read of me suffering rather than enjoying myself, can't say I blame you!

Have to admit not that much to write about since Saigon, which was a hit, set off on my 'touristy' open tour bus, the 'proper' traveller would hate such a way of getting around (as lonely planet indicates) but it is the cheapest, most convienient and after using the public transport in the other SE Asian countires, sorry but I'm ready to take it easy, any fool can be uncomftable.

After Saigon I spent two days in French Hill Station Dalat, it's very cold for this part of the world, being about 1400m elevation, felt chilly at night, the first time I've felt such a sensation since hmm, maybe sleeping out in the desert in Australia.

Next up was beach resort of Mu Ne, which was a dissapointment, I guess the
DalatDalatDalat

hill station with solid French architecture, bloody cold at night.
rubbish on the beach spoilt it, and it's so crazily spread out as well. Some git tried to have my camera when I was taking a picture of the sunset as well so did not give me a joyfull impression of the place, he was up for snatching it, failed, and thankfully did not try to force it off me, he was only little. Lesson learnt, taking sunset photos on a quiet beach alone, not a good idea in Vietnam!

So yesterday continued north and have arrived in the big brash beach resort of Nha Trang. It's 'off season' and my main aim here is a boat tour of some islands tommorrow, where hopefully I will be safe to take some pictures, they say we will snorkel but the sea looks a little choppy so we'll sea.

The way I'm travelling in Thailand is by far the easiest and most luxurious I've had in SE Asia, for that I make no apology, I've want to see in my last 2 weeks smoothly, the buses are big and air con, we get dropped off at guesthouses that offer surprising luxury for very little cash.

Let's just say I'm
DalatDalatDalat

hill station with solid French architecture, bloody cold at night.
reaclimatising to the Western comforts so as not to shock myself on my return. Not ready for the weather though.

Oh, anyone thinking about doing the 'Open Tour' Vietnam, which face it most travellers do, I'm with 'Hanh Cafe' so far so good! looks like they are one of the good ones, and you get good rates at their sister hotels.





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb