Leavin Mui Ne, going to Nah Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Binh Thuan » Mui Ne
July 25th 2010
Published: July 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm leaving Mui Ne tomorrow and I'm going to Nah Trang. The bus leaves at 1pm, and not 11:30am as they first said. But ok, I'm fine with that. That way I have more time to dip into the South Chinese Sea first.

Mui Ne may be a happening place in the books, but it sure didn't work for me. I have to add that the weather didn't help either. It's been raining a lot. Only 2 notable things happened :

-- Event 1 --
I went for an evening walk earlier. About 1,5 hour. Nothing happened when I walked away from the Thai Hoa Mui Ne Resort (sounds fancy huh), but when I started walking back it had gotten to be a little later. It's easy to get a motorbike ride here. It's hard convincing people that you don't want one, that you actually enjoy your walk. But three guys stood out.

Guy nr 1 :
offered me a motorbike ride and was quite persistent. But he got the point. Then he offered me a lady for some *making noises with his mouth*. I had expected that to happen at some point, so I wasn't really surprised. I told him no, but as I said, he was persistent. Then, he offered me a FREE motorbike ride ... now things were getting awkward. A freeeee motorbike ride?? No way I'm getting on something, late in the evening, in the dark, that can go too fast to jump off from. So I declined that as well. After that he figured I was in need for a lady for some "boomboom". What a nice guy! After saying no to that as well, he drove off. At no point did I feel threatened, but I did get an iffy feeling when just one minute later another motorbike driver that was driving towards me made a u-turn right next to me, and looked at me like he was checking me out.

Guy nr 2 :ye
offered me a motorbike ride of course, and also a good massage with boomboom. He didn't persist after I declined though. But I think that's because an older lady who's house we were standing in front of at the time was keeping an eye on things. He spoke softly as well, to make sure she couldn't hear him I guess. I only saw the lady when I turned around to take get walking again. So thank you Vietnamese lady X.

Then, suddenly ...
Girl nr 1 :
Yes! A woman this time! As if there were a lack of transportation she offered me a motorbike ride! Now I had been walking for some time and normally I trust girls in that situation better. No, not -just- because they're girls. But because their motorbikes are less worn. They also drive slower, which is a good idea on a curvy road with sand on it because of the beach some 50 meters away. But it took only one glance to see that this girl had a lot of bling bling and didn't look like the other regular girls. And thus, no thank you ma'm.

Guy nr 3 :
If life turns you down and you're desperate, take an evening stroll around Mui Ne. Because as it so happens he offered me a place to go to for a massage and boomboom. But!!! I think he went to business school. Because he diversified his products! He also offered me marihuana. I didn't understand him at first, as he said "ma-ona" or something. But it was all perfectly clear when he got out a bag with something that looked ... well ... nothing like marihuana actually.

Guy nr 3 asked me where I was going. I told him I was going to the Thai Hoa, and he said I had to go back. ... uh? Excuse me? Back? Did I pass it already? Did I walk that much faster when I walked back? I told him I would keep on walking. But he seemed honest about the fact that I had passed it and offered me a ride there. It was only 1km. And he asked 20.000 VND. Excuse me again?? 20.000 VND for 1km? I can walk that in 10 minutes, no thanks! I told him 5000 and no more. He said 15.000 and then 10.000. But I told him I'd been walking for a long time, and that I really had no problem with another 10 minutes. So for 5000 VND (which is like 25 cents) he drove me back to the Thai Hoa, which I had indeed passed. After the obligatory "wee you fom?" question we had a laugh and I paid him the 5000 VND.

Which marked the end of my walk ...

almost!

Because I had a stroll over the beach after I got back. It was completely deserted and the waves looked very silvery under the moonlight. I rolled up my pants and got my feet wet. I walked through the surf for about another 20 minutes. It could all have been very romantic ... had I not been alone, haha =P

-- Event 2 --
To finish up, I went to get a cola at the restaurant, which doubles as a lounge bar. It was actually closed but kind as they are, they got me one anyway. The girl that helped me asked me where I from (yeah very original there!) but surprised me with the fact that she actually knew where Belgium was. Most people here say then know, and I have given up on telling them so I just keep it at that. But she told me which countries were around Belgium, with a bit of an inquisitive look. But she was correct about it all. She even spoke a few Dutch phrases and knew how to write in Dutch and German. I found that rather impressive for a 15 year old Vietnamese girl. As it turns out, Mỹ isn't 15 years old at all, but 20. We ended up talking, she asked me a lot of questions. It took about a second to figure out that all the things she asked about were things she could use in her job here. But as she was very kind about it, and I had nothing better to do, we kept talking. At the end she asked what I was going to do tomorrow. ... I wonder what it is about Vietnamese girls and asking what I am going to do the next day?!

And then that was that. Other than that, nothing exciting happened in the past 2 days.

(I mean here, I course I found it exciting to talk to Lise on the phone and chat with her 😉

Oh, I contacted a couch surfing host in Nah Trang yesterday. But although he logged on at least twice in that time AND checked out my profile, he has given no answer at all. So I'm will probably stay at a hostel near wheren Caroline is staying (or even the same, but she said it was full).

That's it for now. I'm off to the shower, and then to bed!

Advertisement



27th July 2010

Hahaha! Wat een sympatieke mensen wonen daar in Vietnam! Nu moet je jezelf afvragen: als één iemand u boomboom aanbiedt, dan kun je geluk (of pech, 't is al hoe je 't bekijkt) hebben. Maar als er u dat 2 aanbieden, dan zegt dat meer over u dan over de Vietnamezen. :D "You rich Europe boy? Me love you very much longtime!" De Niels vroeg zich trouwens af of de Vietnamese jongetjes bier lusten en lenig zijn. Ik begreep niet waarom hij dit vroeg... 's Wel kut dat het daar flink geregend heeft. Hopelijk beter weer de komende dagen!
27th July 2010

hey,
hey, jongen lijkt alles goed te gaan met je daar,ben net thuis van gent dagje uit geweest met een vriendin leuke dag gehad.Hoop dat je tijdsplanning een beetje loopt zoals je voorzien had en dat je je amuzeert daar ,hier is alles okee en kijken telkens uit naar nieuws van u.let goed op je zelf en tot gauw groetjes van iedereen hier mama.
29th July 2010

Hoi
Ja, allea goed. Ongeveer toch. Mijn maag geeft me meer wel problemen dan niet. Door de ondraaglijke hitte heb ik absoluut geen honger, ik heb deze morgen 1 hap gegeten en daardoor natuurlijk ongelooflijke maagpijn gekregen omdat mijn maag leeg is. Ik kan niet eten, en als ik eet word ik ziek. Niet echt zo fijn. Dus ik ga proberen tussendoor meer koeken te eten of zo, kwestie van mijn maag gelukkig te houden. Alles komt wel goed =)

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb