Mui Ne


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Binh Thuan » Mui Ne
December 11th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On road to Mu NeiOn road to Mu NeiOn road to Mu Nei

snap this photo from bus
The bus ride to Mui Ne was bearable...especially as we neared the coast the weather broke and the sun was shining.

I took a hut near the beach for $5 a night with a fan (outside showers with no hot water...) and a mossy net. I love the feeling of living in a hut. The place is a bit out of town but it is only a motoscooter ride away for $.50.

I headed to town to grab some food and I bump into Gertz and his girlfriend...small world this traveling circuit.

Spent the night of my birthday with two girls from Wales and three Irish lads who I would spend the rest of my time in Mui Ne with. They were all staying at Keng Guest House (I recommend this place to anyone who is comig to Mui Ne).

Most evenings I spent playing cards at Keng with the Irish lads and then afterhours at Jibes...a surfing bar down the beach.

One of my days in Mui Ne, I rented a scooter to head out to the famous sand dunes. On the way out to the "white sand dunes", I passed the closer red dunes. Many kids approach you with sleds as it is fun to sled down the dunes. One of the kids actually sat on my scooter and did not get off....so I took him on a ride to town which is a few miles away. He waited and waited so when I finally decided to head out to the White Dunes, he came along. We listened to my MP3 player as we rode along the sunny roads. The kid loved it and that makes me smile even today. The dunes were amazing....reminded me of both Tottorri, Japan and the dunes of Jaislamer, India.

I enjoyed my time in Mui Ne very much...mainly due to the sand, sun and surf. After so much rain, spending time in the sun makes me happy. Although, I do find traveling in Vietnam "soul-less". It is so easy and everything from accomodations to cafes are so suited to tourists and travelers, the fun is taken out of it.

It is off to Saigon next.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Fishing Boats on displayFishing Boats on display
Fishing Boats on display

A look at the fishing harbor of Mui Ne.
Old SchoolOld School
Old School

Local carpenters use muscle to cut up some wood while in the far background, two kids fish out in the sea.
Boys fishingBoys fishing
Boys fishing

Two kids in the local boat (looks like a tub) cast a net and fish about 100 yards off the beach.
My Street Football TeamMy Street Football Team
My Street Football Team

I joined these local kids playing "keep away" on the sidewalk.
JibesJibes
Jibes

Me and the Irish Lads (Stephen, Gary and Airee) enjoy some late night beverages at Jibes, a surfer bar in town.
Beach RidingBeach Riding
Beach Riding

I rented a scooter to tour around the area and visit the dunes. But first I took in on a remote beach and put it through its paces....
Dune GuidesDune Guides
Dune Guides

My small guide and the sled carrier walk in front of me up the dune which I will sled down.
Power HandPower Hand
Power Hand

The Irish lads, myself and the Canadian girls play some Shnitzlefucher before heading out to Jibes.
The LadsThe Lads
The Lads

We are all smiles...from left to right: Me, Stephen and Gary. Must be the rum and cokes.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb