A trip to Nam Dinh


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Ninh Binh » Nho Quan
May 11th 2010
Published: May 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Rainy Hanoi 1Rainy Hanoi 1Rainy Hanoi 1

I know they might be distorted but it's not me it's the rain :P
Goood evening Beirut!! 😊

Its been raining in Hanoi for 2 days now.. tropical weather.. sunny for an hour, raining for houuurs.
so basically j'etais bien trempee vue que je n'ai pas encore le "rain coat"... c'est pas bien grave, juste le temps d'un trajet!

Today was my first trip outside of Hanoi! The town I visited wasn't so far away but still 😊 everything is so new for me that I'm always excited...saying YES to everything (relativement biensur). We went to a small town, located two hours from Hanoi called Nam Dinh..I couldn't find it on the tracking thingy so I entenred Ninh Binh which is the closest town to Nam Dinh.

Oh why I went there? right! The company with whom I'm currently working for is expanding. And one of their next big opening is taking place in Nam Dinh. They asked me if I wanted to go and of course I said YES!!
(Je travaille pour le plus grand hypermarche du Vietnam)

Nam Dinh is a small town, avec rien de tres particulier. le trajet valait la peine, des plantations de riz a n'en plus finir..et toutes cette verdures... sublime! un vert FLUO... j'avais
Rainy Hanoi 2Rainy Hanoi 2Rainy Hanoi 2

I know they might be distorted but it's not me it's the rain :P
juste envie qu'on s'arrete et qu'on me lache dans la nature! hum... 😊

Pendant que mes collegues travaillaient, moi j'errais ds les petites rue delabrees avec pour guide le chauffeur Hang (ou Yang). On s'est arrete sur une grande place en bordure d'un lac. Ca fait une semaine que je suis la et je n'ai rien vu d'aussi calme et serein, surtout compare au bourdonement continue de Hanoi!

Et puis il fallait bien dejeuner! Une des femmes qui etaient avec nous est originaire de la-bas, donc tout naturellement elle nous a invite dans la maison de ses parents! Experience de fou!!
Her family was so nice, they welcomed me like I was their "white" daughter... It's incredible how people are polite and the vietnamese hospitality is just extraordinary! love the people...

Mnt il faut comprendre un truc, it is IMPOLITE to say NO to something and specially food when you enter a Vietnamese family house. So lets talk about food!

Mostly everything is cooked with porc, chicken, meat (normal) and fish. They are BIG TIMES carnivores!
So, they invite you to sit around the table, there're beers and some vegetables to start with. The yummy vegetables
Having diner at a Bia Hoi Ha NoiHaving diner at a Bia Hoi Ha NoiHaving diner at a Bia Hoi Ha Noi

Some crabs, noodles with porc heart, and vegetables
are called Morning Glory in english, its like chinese cabbage marinated with a delicious garlic dressing ! sooo goood! so you chin chin, drink the beer and start eating..Oh and guess what? when they cheer here, they say Djo! hihi c'est marrant non...

Bref yalla les plats commencent a arriver. Il y avait comme une boulette de porc, que tu decortiques et puis tu l'enroules dans une petite feuille verte, trempes dans la sauce et tu manges! J'ai goute et franchement c'est un exploit! J'en mangerai pas chaque jour, mais bon! Hier j'ai eu droit au coeur du porc, et ca serieusement je peux pas!

Et puis des gambas a gogo. Mmmm...Now here is the trick, you have to eat the eyes of the gambas, because as they say its brings you LUCK! 😊 so I ate the eyes of the Gambas..un deuxieme exploit! and yeah, its fine... then of course the chicken which they eat entirely.. and what they hate most is the white part, which we eat the most! lol Its amazing how different they are form us...

I did felt bad for a while, as I really could not eat everything and I knew that they were all looking at me with their big eyes and smiling everytime I tried something new! Je m'en suis sortie ! and It was a great CULINARY experience

Oh and of course i drank the famous rice vodka.. as I couldn't refuse the shots! :p
The old man was so scared that I get drunk, he made me eat a whole pamplemousse later!! 😊

On the way back to Hanoi we stopped at a Buddhist temple! 😊 aaaah another moment of serenity and peace of the mind.. I prayed a little! no comments, just check the pictures!

Now I'm back home! it's nearly 22h.
Je dois preparer les cours d'anglais de demain...long long day.. so no going out tonight!

Enjoy the pics! 😊

Love....


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

Street 1
Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

Street 2
Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

Street 3
Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

He was the youngest General in Vietnam. If i'm not mistaken he was 16 years old
Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

Catching a fish :)
Nam DinhNam Dinh
Nam Dinh

the river
Coconut JuiceCoconut Juice
Coconut Juice

it reminded me of Abidjan
At LunchAt Lunch
At Lunch

Me and Hang
At LunchAt Lunch
At Lunch

With Hang, Co (my boss), and the owner's daughter (who invited us)
At lunchAt lunch
At lunch

With Trang
At LunchAt Lunch
At Lunch

With my adorable host


11th May 2010

Coconut juiceeeee c Abidjan typike!!
11th May 2010

Coconut juiceeeee c Abidjan typike!!
12th May 2010

heheyyy
wexiiiiiiiii jadore te lire!! miss u ma cherie!
12th May 2010

Wexesee
Jme sens o vietnam :))))
12th May 2010

joelle on dirait ke t a pekin express
joelle tu me manques! c genial de te voir comme ca ta lair trooop epanouie! jsui trop contente et cest tro bien cette histoire de blog on vit le truc avec toi!!! ccomment tu fai pour ecrire comme ca? c tro fort c un vrai roman illustre en plus! yalla on suit tes aventure au jour le jour tu ns manke misss uuuuuuuu (et jtenvie pour la bouuffe ca a lair tro bon )bisousss
12th May 2010

Hahahaha jo t trop drole! bravo pour t exploit i'm fiere! G trop envie de te rejoindre ca a l'air super comme experience! :* je t'aime tu me manke
12th May 2010

At Lunch
BTW c ki ca mec hmmmmmmmm ;p

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb