Wilson Family Reunion (I'm done with alliteration!)


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
August 27th 2006
Published: September 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about the recent radio silence everybody! Blame Claire and Matt - I've been too distracted over the last 2 weeks to write any decent journal entries or blog entries. Also...Claire took all the photos in Hanoi so this page is a bit boring :-(

I'll start at the start, in Hanoi...

My first experience with AirAsia wasn't too bad, although I should warn anyone changing terminals in Bangkok to wear a comfy pair of shoes - I'm sure I covered at least a couple of kms between planes! I had organised a taxi from Hanoi airport with my guesthouse and the drive into town was a great introduction to Vietnam: beautiful scenery, a million motorbikes, and apparently no traffic laws!

Hanoi old quarter is busy, noisy and quite dirty, but it has a real charm to it. It was a big change from Chiang Mai - where were all the air-conditioned 7-elevens?! I took a walk around Hoan Kiem Lake - the hub of the old quarter and saw a lot of local life. I took it fairly easy for the rest of the day in preparation for the arrival of ... Claire and Matt!

The next 2 days were spent...

Overall, I liked that Hanoi was very quaint and oldey-worldy but it's too manic to spend very long there, so we went to Halong Bay...

Advertisement



11th September 2006

I miss Hanoi
Your very last sentence "..it's too manic to spend very long there..", try to imagine growing up in Hanoi and live there for 19 years. Now, when I am not living in Hanoi more, I miss that small and dusty city to bits. I know, the traffic is crazy and the city is so noisy. But still...

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb