Backpackertour vs. independent adventure?


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
May 17th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So tonight is my last night in my 'transition' hotel which I booked in advance to ease myself in to the crazyness that is Vietnam.

Tomorrow I'm out on my ear and the only plan is to get myself over to Halong Bay...I have two options...



1.) Taxi to Gia Lam Bus Station to get myself a bus over to Halong City for a night in a hostel and then get myself on a Halong Bay tour the following day.

Or..

2.) Get myself booked in to a hostel in the old quarter and then arrange a 1,000,100d tour for the following day from a travel company based in the OQ of Hanoi. The tour I've enquired about is a two day trip with one night on either a junk boat or onshore hotel.



My current hotel have dicouraged me from going with the first option - stating that the people on the buses will not speak any English and they will stop and pick up new passangers all the time. I don't personally see a problem with either of those 'warnings' they will probably be the things that make me remember the trip more.

Has anyone done this trip from Hanoi or have any suggestions, all will be much appreciated????

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb