The first 24 hours...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
March 27th 2012
Published: March 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Busy Hanoi street no. 1Busy Hanoi street no. 1Busy Hanoi street no. 1

Centre of the Old Quarter
We alighted in Ho Chi Minh City to a humid 33 degrees for our transfer to Hanoi. It took 10 minutes for Han and I to clear customs, claim our baggage and dump it again for the next flight. We were the first on the air conditioned bus that was to take us to the domestic terminal. 30 minutes and a few new friends later, our bus took us about 300 metres down the road, ha! I couldn't stop laughing. There must have been concern for our delicate sensibilities 😊 Oh well, there will be plenty of other opportunities for walking.

One arrival in Hanoi and a mind blowing taxi ride later Hannah and I arrived safely at the hotel, although we were both very excited we were also very tired and hit the pillows for some much needed sleep.

Today we've taken ourselves off on a walking tour of old Hanoi. Check out. our photos to get a real taste of the flavour of Hanoi. Han and I are exhausted but happy after our 4 hour walk, I am sure Hannah didn't know what to expect and I think I need to give her an opportunity here to tell us her thoughts so far...

" I actually wasn't expecting anything like this. There's so much to buy, pretty much anything you could ask for. We saw the way the Vietnamese live, and the conditions that they live in compared to Sydney. It was really hard communicating with lots of the locals because they didn't speak English, so there was just a lot of hand signals. Crossing all the roads was scary but kind of fun, so many bikes and beeping! Having to wait till there was no traffic (which was never)."

Let me begin by saying that Hanoi is fantastic! It's dirty, noisy and alive. Navigation isn't too bad as the Vietnamese written word is vaguely recognisable and something simple like street names can be read, boy what a difference that makes. The locals stared and were largely unimpressed with me, however Hannah was gawked at everywhere we went. I did make some of my own friends however, there was one woman who said I was very young looking to be Hannah's mum and she and I will be BFFs for sure 😊 did I mention that that cost me 40 000 vnd (about $2) but I got two photos with her baskets and hat and some pineapple pieces thrown in!

Right now we are enjoying some local brew (well I am, Han is drinking 7up) and waiting to be picked up for our overnight train to Sapa.

We hope these photos give you an early indication that we are having a FABULOUS time? Please make sure you scroll down past the ads to catch all of our photos, more later.... Jo


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Still near the Ngoc Son TempleStill near the Ngoc Son Temple
Still near the Ngoc Son Temple

It was very pretty and peaceful here.
Hannah tries her hand as a street vendorHannah tries her hand as a street vendor
Hannah tries her hand as a street vendor

This is the woman who milked me of my $2, I think she was hopeful of more!


27th March 2012

10m /minute
300 m in half an hour, that's a crack up!!! Looks like an exciting spot... Go girls
27th March 2012

Wow!
Hi Jo and Han! What a great start to your holiday. I'm glad you're both having a good time. Very different scene to Sydney. Looking forward to your next post. Linda
27th March 2012

I wish having another holiday :(
It is so attractive. I wish I can go there with U and experience the simple and busy live in Vietnam. Jo, 2 wks in HK not enough! Can I apply another holiday leave for Viet. HaHa..just joking :)
5th April 2012

Hi Suet Yin, no more holiday approvals until I get back! Ha ha, just joking. We are having a great time and wish you could all be with us to share this wonderful experience. Jo
27th March 2012

good morning hannah and jo
great, great and more great, im so happy that things are going well. i will stay tuned.
28th March 2012

Success
The blog is working , have just read your first entry. Hi Han, glad you are enjoying yourself., It's great to read your entries...a really good idea that. Cheers.
30th March 2012

One word - Wow!
Hello Girls! Loving your first blog and I'm already looking forward to the next one. I'm glad you're having a great time and I can't wait to see more photos. Hope you're both well : ) xo

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb