Vietnam or money money money


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
March 26th 2005
Published: March 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

To be honest, that is what Vietnam is all about. Getting the money out of my, into different Vietnamese pockets. Starting at the border from China where I got sold a non-existing ticket for a minibus, ending on the border to Laos, where the Vietnamese wanted to throw us (4 huge Swedish and Irish guys and me, huge of course as well;-) ) out of the bus, claiming our ticket was not ok for the way to Lao capital Vientiane. Guess who was staying in the bus!

Anyway, Hanoi, the Vietnamese Capital is nice. A French influenced eating culture gave me the first baguette with sausage and a nice chocolate croissant after 4 month. Believe me, that was pure pleasure.

Another big pleasure in Hanoi is riding a Honda Scooter together with 100.000 Hanoians. The traffic rules are simple. The bigger your vehicle is, the more rights you have.

Any other adventure in Vietnam is limited to booking a tour with the right travel agency, avoiding not to be ripped of. A great challenge though;-)
In fact, I was lucky with my tour to Ha Long Bay. A beautiful limestone scenery in the ocean. The group also was nice and especially our tour guide Mr. Sunny was a good guy apart from the fact that it was hard to get him away from the prefixed schedule. But Mr. Michael and Mr. Stefan, that’s another German and me, finally got him where we wanted and not the other way round.

I would like to close my Vietnamese chapter real quick now. Not much more to say but I promise more for beautiful Lao and great Lao people.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



5th April 2005

ha ha
Glad to hear that the Vietnamese don't see the real you, just your money! Sorry, but I laughed my socks off when I read about the Lao border bus incident. If I had 10000 kip for every person I met that it happened to...... Keep the blogs coming....

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb