Another Universtiy Essay


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
May 15th 2010
Published: May 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Helloo!
So recently I've been doing a lot of thinking and planning for the next year. While in South Africa I worked with a physical therapist and decided that it would be an amazing profession. After a lot of research I learned that I would have to go to school for 7 years to get my PHD... something I never dreamed of doing in high school! After living the travelers lifestyle for the past 5 months I know I want to have a job that will allow me to see the world and help people while doing it. Becoming a PT will be incredibly hard work but the final result will be everything I want in a job. I've had to reapply to a University that offers PT and have chose one that is still close to my sister and cousin. My application essay explains why I have had this change of heart...


When I decided to defer my admission to Loyola University of Maryland to take a gap year, I knew I would learn a lot but I never thought I would a acquire the passion to pursue a dream. After working alongside a physical therapist at a school for disabled children I knew I had found my vocation. Marymount is the University I feel will enable me to pursue my dream of becoming a physical therapist.

I worked at a summer camp as a counselor and then at a retail store through the Fall to earn the funds to begin my adventure. In early December, I flew into Nairobi, Kenya, where I met the group I would be traveling with to Cape Town. It took us 54 days to travel 11,351 Kilometers through 9 different countries. Everyday I would hear myself say, "this is the most amazing thing I have ever done." The greatest experience I had was definitely camping in the middle of the Serengeti National Park and falling asleep to the sound of lions roaring. On Christmas I went to Church in a local village in Malawi. The people were dancing and singing showing their enthusiasm.

When I arrived in Cape Town I had been traveling and camping for so long that I was happy to be staying in one place and to have a bed. I lived in a suburb of Cape Town for 6 weeks while volunteering in a township, or shanty town, working with disabled children. Each day I would assist the Physical Therapist by taking a few students aside to do exercises with them. I learned what exercises would benefit each student and would take the initiative to continue these exercises with them in the classrooms. I knew I wanted to become a Physical Therapist after witnessing the impressive improvement of the children over the 6 weeks as I worked with them. I helped Indepille, an autistic and blind student, gain the confidence to walk upstairs. I helped Unati, a student with advanced Cereberal Palsey, to respond to me by turning her head and even smiling! It was difficult but it was the most enjoyable and satisfying work I have ever done. This experience gave me the inspiration to do whatever it takes to help children like Indepille and Unati as a profession.

I reluctantly left Africa in mid-march for a much different destination. I left behind the natural beauty of Africa to experience the cultural beauty of Asia. I arrived in Bangkok and was assaulted by the noise, pollution and chaos. I remember looking out from my taxi window and only being able to see a few buildings because of the smog. All I wanted to do at that point was return to Africa. I continued to feel this way for the following two weeks as I made my way through Cambodia and Vietnam. One day whilst traveling through Vietnam to the Laos border the endless rice fields interrupted only by ancient pagodas struck me as the perfect balance between cultural and physical beauty. At this moment I truly saw Asia for the first time. After journeying through Laos and northern Thailand I returned to Bangkok, this time seeing it through different eyes.

I am now living in Hanoi, Vietnam working in a local school with disabled children. This is a different experience than South Africa but the children are just as lovely. Here, the children are mainly mentally disabled whilst some suffer from the effects of Agent Orange and have physical deformities. At the school, the biggest challenge I face is that I am the only English speaker. I must be proactive and assertive, because when the teachers are leading an activity I can only learn by watching. I give the children plenty of hugs and teach them songs like "head shoulders knees and toes".

My time in Africa taught me what I want to do and my time in Asia has taught me that I can do it. I now sit in a small cafe in the French Quarter of Hanoi over looking Saint Josephs Cathedral. It is here that I think about my future. Hopefully my future includes Marymount and a profession of helping people through physical therapy. As a result of my experiences of the past 5 months, I know this is what I want and I know that I have the passion to realize this dream.

Advertisement



16th May 2010

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS.
This made me really emotional as i read it. Caz, i only lived with you for 6 weeks but you have grown so much from your experiences. You spoke about the person you want to be and i think you have become that person already. I felt so happy as i read this. You're amazing dearest. Oh my lifey... :) Take care x

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb