The Déjà Vu


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 26th 2009
Published: July 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hokay so I just got back to Hanoi and I've tired of looking up quoted that aptly fit the theme of my entry so we'll just get right into it. I'm afraid I won't have the time to climb fansipan because I dawdled too long elsewhere but youknow maybe it's for the best. I technically have time but if something freak occasions such as a delayed train or a shattered tibia I would miss my flight home. And lord knows I don't want that. I can't recall when I last wrote and it's a tad time consuming navigating via the itouch so if it's all right with I'll start back in Laos after I left luang prabang. I recall chatting with cameron mock online ere I left and got in a van to vang vieng. Somehow it feels like I've already told this so I think ok going to skip ahead and you can ask about it later if you must know. I left vang vieng via bus and headed to the capital vientiane. It's a nice city as far as cities go I guess. I mean I didn't fall in love with it in fact I got a bit of a head cold there which I'm still recovering from. It worried me quite a deal because I figured if I showed any symptoms of the swine flu they would quarintine me on my arrival in Hanoi. But it worked out fine as long as you don't check the boxes for fever or cough or something like dyspaniea then youre good to go. I stayed two nights in a decent place near the Mekong river then two nights at a place right on the river. Both were the same price and the latter had superior ammenities causing me to ask why didn't I stay here the whole time, a very fruitless question at that point. Anyway I had some good meals, they love western food there or as I once saw it labeled modern food. But Vientiane is right on the Thai border so I got to revisit some of my favs. I didn't do much else there due to my ailing health but did enjoy some sunsets over the Mekong at some of the beer gardens right on the river. I would have left sooner but I could save twenty five bucks on a flight if I left today so I opted for that. The bus was another possibility but I think it was worth the moolah to take a one hour flight as opposed to a twenty-six+ hour bus through mountains that are like driving route one in Cali except not as scenic and on a subpar bus. So I got here, Hanoi, today and am going to stay in duch's hotel for the duration of my trip and maybe go on some daily tours to kill the time. Oh yeah I didn't get scanned this time at the Hanoi airport hence the title déjà vu which is supposed to be ironic... I think. I paid two bucks for a mini bus in lieu of a nonmetered taxi run by a couple of goons for about twenty. Well that about catches us up and I'll be off bout now, only one or two more entries I'd say and my apologies for this one being one giant paragraph it will probably be pain to read but anyways ciao. Euros rub off on you easily

A quote from my first journal entry, "My feet rank." -BNM, Taipei airport.

Advertisement



28th July 2009

homecoming
I see that your flight is arriving at 5:05 on sat. evening. We are looking forward to seeing you and will be waiting for you, ready to feed you some good old western food and a comfortable ride home from Dayton in a car. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb