Malaria- 0 Melissa-1


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
December 4th 2005
Published: December 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Fun DayFun DayFun Day

See Mom, the clinic was clean!!
Hi everyone! Just wanted to send out an update to let you all know that I don't have Malaria! After flying to Hanoi Tuesday night, I went straight to the clinic Wednesday and spent the day there getting better. I went in with my own diagnosis of a urinary tract infection, which happened to be correct, it was just way worse than I had expected. They hooked me up to an IV with antibiotics for a couple hours, did an ultrasound to rule out any kidney stones and then sent me on my way with a prescription for more anitbiotics. It's amazing how you don't really realize how bad you feel until you start to feel better. Everyone was so nice and it was an international clinic so language was never an issue. My first doctor was a woman so when I started crying, she was really nice to me. I just really missed mom and home that day, a lot! But, all is better now. I went today for a follow-up and Leslie and I off to Hue tonight! Between doctor visits, we were able to see some of the city sights and do a 2-day tour to Halong Bay.
Hoan Kiem LakeHoan Kiem LakeHoan Kiem Lake

Right in the middle of the Old Quarter of Hanoi is this lake. It's really pretty as the trees that line it all grow towards the water, so their branches are touching the lake.


Halong Bay is about 3 hours from here and is home of 3000 islands. It's pretty spectacular and we picked a couple of good days to go as we even got a little sunshine. We got on the boat at noon and sailed out for a bit while eating lunch. We got to Hung Sung Sot Caves and WOW!!! I haven't seen many caves, but this one was awesome! The pics are on another camera, so you'll have to wait until we're home to see them. It was discovered in 1901 and opened as a tourist attraction in 1999. They have done a lot of work installing lights, pathways, etc. for tourism, which takes away a bit from the actual cave, but still, it was a sight to see. HUGE! Stalagmites and Stalactites everywhere!!! Did you know that it takes 150 years for a stalagmite to grow 1 inch????? Me neither!!!!

After the cave, we got back on the boat and had some free time for kayaking/swimming. Well, by now the sun was gone and it was cold so we didn't go into the water. A couple of guys did, but that's boys for you!!!! We had dinner
Halong BayHalong BayHalong Bay

3000 islands and I think we only saw 50 maybe! Not many of them are habitable as they are sheer cliff on all sides, but some are.
on the boat, played some Yahtzee with a couple of girls from Holland that we met and then called it a night. We were looking forward to a nice, quiet night on the boat but instead got wood-eating worms and rats!!! WHY US??? I swear, these things ONLY happen to us! We could hear this chewing of wood and we thought rat (cause so many rats eat wood!!!) so I woke up our guide and he told me "No, that's just a wood-eating worm. You'll know it's a rat when you hear one." Ummm, OK. Yep, like that's supposed to make me feel better!! So, sure enough, after the worm got full and it was quiet, we did hear some rat footsteps and a squeak or 2!! Thing is with rats is that you never know exactly where they are. So, in went the earplugs and up went the covers and we actually got a little sleep.

The last day on the boat was spent just driving back to the harbour, which took a couple of hours. The sun was out again and I feel asleep, which left me with a pretty funny sunglasses tan! We had lunch and
Beautiful SunsetBeautiful SunsetBeautiful Sunset

Can't really describe it, so just enjoy it!
returned to Hanoi around 5. Today, we booked an open-ended bus ticket, which gives you 5-6 stops between here and Ho Chi Minh City and you can get off when you'd like and just hop back on when you're ready to leave. It's pretty efficient and helps break up the journey. Our first leg tonight to Hue is 12 hours. We are planning to spend a few days travelling to HCM City, including 3-4 days in Nha Trang to get our diving certificate....so excited!!!!

Love you all very much and thanks for the emails.............keep 'em coming!
Melissa and Leslie xoxoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Our BoatOur Boat
Our Boat

It was definately a step up from the one we took through Laos!!! Felt more like a cruise!


4th December 2005

thank goodness
Mellie, I'm so glad you are feeling better. I faithfully read your blog, but all the names of the places you are visiting are WAY over my head, but it sure sounds like fun! Say hello to Leslie for me, and keep up the good work with the journal entries and the pictures....love it! Miss you ~M
4th December 2005

What Fun!
Hey Girls, I just wanted to say WOW. It looks like you are having an amazing time - well definitely interesting anyway. I love reading your comments Mel, and glad to hear/see that you are better. Lots of Love, Lis.
5th December 2005

Christmas Cards
Oh Melissa, only you would take the time, find some cards get pictures developed and send them from Asia and to top it off.... get them to us before next spring. THANK YOU SO MUCH for the card and the picture and as always your kind words. Dan was so impressed and loved the card. It really is amazing reading your stories and looking at the pictures. Your personal stories are great and make me smile and laugh. Even Vancouver now has snow and you can feel "Christmas" in the air. You take care of yourself and Leslie...so much love to you both.
7th December 2005

bringing back memories
Hi Leslie, All of your expeditions are bringing back so many memories of my trip there. Try not to spend too much money in HoiAnn, but it is worth it to get clothes made (mine are still in fine condition 2 years on). I'm in Australia at theh moment so your talk of sunshine doesn't depress me as much as the other readers I'm sure! Take care of yourselves (Vietnam is where I got my wallet stolen) and have fun diving!! xox Becks
9th December 2005

Hey Liu and Melissa, I would have freaked the F out if I had to go to the doctor's in another country let alone SE Asia. I am glad you both are ok. So it's true Leslie you do have worms. I knew the rumours were true. Keep doing it girls, your trip sounds amazing! Love Kell
10th December 2005

Celeb Gossip
Okay girls, so here's the latest celeb news. Nick and Jessica have split up, Matt Damon got married in a secret ceremony and Brad is adopting Angelina's adopted kids. Am I the only one who doesn't think Angelina is that hot . . . Stay tuned. : )
12th December 2005

worry wart
Hey Mel, I'm so glad you found out while u were sick. I can only imagine the vast number of self diagnoses that were going on!!! I've had a few from here myself!! But glad u r ok. I miss you lots, especially with Christmas near. Went to the new Harry Potter with Dad, you'll love it but I still think the third was better. Love you both. xoxo
13th December 2005

Hey Girlies!
Hope you guys are doing well! It's not going to be the same this year going back to the loops and not having you guys there :( !! Just over a month to go...enjoy it!! Love you and miss you both so much!! ps...adding to Shannon's celeb gossip...it looks like Brit and K-fed are on the rocks and Nicole Richie split w/her fiancee. Hehe gotta love it!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0846s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb