vive le tet!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 15th 2007
Published: February 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

alright, so this time in Hanoi is not as bad as last time, it's growing on me. Perhaps it also has to do with the fact that I'm well rested and fed and nobody has been mean to me in the few hours I've been here this time.

Halong Bay was really nice, I'm glad I did it right away. The weather wasn't great, it was cloudy and misty so all my photos are just shades of grey (and one sepia toned one when I found out that my camera could do that, isn't technology great?). anyways, it was a good crowd on the boat for the overnight, tho we all turned in quite early after several games of Shithead. Funny story, there was a brother-sister-boyfriend trio and I had to share a room with one of them but the brother didn't want to, I was pretty neutral about the whole thing, it was just one night so it would've been fine. his sister comes to me and tells me that she'll share the room and I later asked her about it, she told me that her brother is actually 16 and felt really awkward about sharing a room with a 24 year old girl. how adorable!

anyways, there were 8 of us that also spent one day kayaking and treking on Cat Ba Island and it was a good crew, we hung out, went for Bia Hoi (street side home brew where you sit at little kiddie plastic tables and it costs 20 cents a glass). they were all Aussie except one guy from England who had just been to Oz with his girlfriend so sometimes I couldn't understand a bloody word they said, which is all part of the fun really.

some of them are headed to Sapa, where I'm headed on the night train in a couple of hours, so we'll all probably bump into each other there. I'm really excited to spend the Lunar New Year (Tet here) in a smaller place, Hanoi is already busy so I can only imagine what tomorrow and the next day will be like.

I feel like when I return I'll be dead tired but will have seen way cool stuff, I even get to stay in a homestay in a village, how wicked awesome is that?!
and today is the one month mark of when I go home, how happy/sad is that?!

alright, stop counting down the days folks, all of this will be yours before you know it

much love
Alexis

Advertisement



16th February 2007

4 weeks to go!?!?! mothers, lock up your teenaged sons, she's coming back!

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb