Departure's Eve


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 1st 2005
Published: July 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Can you believe it's 9:08pm in San Francisco the night before I leave and I'm almost packed? Frankly, neither can I.

The other thrilling news is that I have learned how to pronounce words that start with "ng"! This is a huge step in my crash Vietnamese lessons that started a few days ago. Thankfully, my coworker Huyen has spoken some phrases on my digital recorder. Either I will listen to them all the way over, mastering the pronunciation OR I will play it for people instead of speaking... only time will tell.

Tomorrow John is giving me a ride to the airport in the morning where I will meet Mary Kay. We basically spend all weekend flying and arrive late tomorrow night: San Francisco -> Los Angeles -> Osaka, Japan -> Hanoi, Vietnam.

Mary Kay started a foundation called The_HOPE_Project and their first project is building, staffing and supplying a school for the blind in Ninh Binh.

We'll be paying the school a visit and I'll be taking lots of video to create a travelogue/documentary. It will be my first! Let's hope I remember to turn the microphone on.

I'll check in when I can and upload pictures if I can figure out how.

Thanks for getting started with me. See you in Vietnam!

Miss K

Advertisement



2nd July 2005

Well she's off
AT the Bagel place this morning, Daisy tells me 'There's this nice girl who is going to Vietnam to do volunteer work...' and I said, 'Hey, that's my friend Kristian, and I took her to the airport this morning!'. Those poor folks at Holey Bagel can't figure us out, the other day the younger girl asked about my 'girlfriend' Kristian. We keep em guessing.
4th July 2005

Ngbon Ngvoyage
Hey Miss K - love the blog - can't wait to read more about your adventures in Vietnam. You're on your way - yahoo!!! Love, Chris
4th July 2005

Hope this gets to you
Hope, not being project "Hope." Anyhow, looking forward to more updates. Forgot to recommend taking super glue in case you meet some of the people we had talked about. Get it? Love, Aunt H
5th July 2005

Wow, you guys are amazing!
I am so proud of you Mary Kay. It's a good thing I live my life through you! ha-ha Please post pictures soon! I am anxious to see the progress of the project. I have sent an Information Email about your project to everyone I work with. Hopefully that will help with some donations. We will be sending something soon as well. I've been thinkin about ya and I'm so happy to hear from you. You guys have fun and keep me informed! I just love the adventures of MK! BTW - A funny thing, I started selling Mary Kay Cosmetics - ; )
5th July 2005

Roche'ee
I hope your travels brought you to Hanoi safely. I was encouraged by the picture, hoping that you made it there safely. Look forward to your updates! ML
5th July 2005

I can hardly wait
Dear kristian, I can hardly wait to see the video and the great work you and MaryKay are doing. Remember don't drink the water or eat anything! Ha, Ha, Nan

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb