Second day in Sapa


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
August 4th 2012
Published: August 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
We woke up to the morning call of the chickens and the yelp of some dog . As we waited to start our second day of the treck the courtyard started to fill up with young women who heard of the "generous women who buys a lot of bracelets" - that's me folks- well not today! Today I was tired from a long night, no food and no mood for being begged to- so as we left the family stay house I wasnt very nice and the girls dissapeared to find someone else.

We hiked through more rice fields, a bamboo forest that was extremely muddy. Jeff and I were very impressed with our guide whose shoes were still clean after 2 hours of hiking while our shoes were so covered in mud you couldn't see the shoe. We trecked for about 4 hours in all and as we got to the last and final hill - I took one look at how steep it was and said to myself " no way am I walking that" so I had my guide convince a local to take me up the hill by motorcycle. He agreed and asked for a dolllar- no prob.

whooa It was great fun ... Jeff on princple walked up the hill... NOT ME.

While I was upset by seeing all of the poverty on this trip, I have to say that I'm not sure that in our society we are happier than the people we met along the way. Seeing children that are able to be entertained without some square hand held machine - it definitly makes you wonder.

one other thing. Rice is really hard to grow and harvest .. Eat it with respect!

What a great trip, exhausted and hot we head down back to our train where we wait anxiously to get back to society as we know it and LIKE IT!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Toll bridgeToll bridge
Toll bridge

We had to pay a toll to the man who built the bridge.


Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 97; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb